Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Prairie Village, KS
Students enrolled: 440
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Ann School 3

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
This school matches the definition of average perfectly. It has average teachers with average enthusiasm and teaching skills. St. Ann's is primarily equipped to only meet the needs of average students. The one resource that St. Ann's had to accommodate above average students, E.L. (enhanced learning) at a nearby public school is no longer offered, and in my opinion, that program was the only impressive program that St. Ann had to offer. The only experience an above average student gains at St. Ann's an easy ride through elementary school with no challenges whatsoever. This school is great for average students, but I would not recommend it to parents with students above or below average.

St. Ann School 4

Posted July 09, 2013
- a community member
St. Ann's is a wonderful school to attend, even if you aren't Catholic. The class sizes are very small, no more than 50 per grade. Everyone knows each other; in 8th grade, I could walk down to the kindergarten wing and say hello to everyone by name. You develop bonds with the teachers and students. Because of the school size, the teacher's know which areas you are struggling in and how they can explain it in a way you'd grasp. You are constantly working on test strategies and learning to be a better human. The academics are a little strenuous, but if you need help, any teacher is willing to provide it. I go to a public high school now (because I have more options than had I continued private education) and I must admit, I miss the uniforms. It was nice waking up each morning and just throwing on the same skirt you wore the day before and not have to worry about being judged. The only issue I have - albeit, the school is Catholic - is that they could be more welcoming of different beliefs and opinions. There are many sports and activities students and parents can join. St. Ann's is a community, especially in times of need. They're there to help you and guide you and love you.


St. Ann School 5

Posted May 29, 2012
- a parent
Middle school has really stepped it up in the past two years. They have great academics and great relationships with the students. They really prepare them for the challenging high schools our students attend.

St. Ann School 3

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
St. Ann's has an exceptional primary school, but as you go up through the grades, the teachers become worse (especially in the middle school). Mr. Cavender is a fantastic teacher, but again, after sixth grade St. Ann's has nothing to offer but an average education. The local public middle schools are very good and have a lot more to offer.

St. Ann School 5

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
Great staff, very involved parents. Very high expectations for academics and behavior.


St. Ann School 5

Posted November 04, 2008
- a student
Thi school is awesome! The teachers are great and kind. Mr. Cavender is the best teacher

St. Ann School 5

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Ann School 5

Posted April 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St. Ann School 3

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Ann School 3

Posted August 28, 2006
- a parent
I cannot see where Fine Arts is enhanced: KC area has several children and educational performances available at -JUCCO, Penn Valley, Music Hall, and other locations. These are NOT noted in the school curriculum. When paying Kansas Taxes, I feel that utilizing additional educational resources of Shawnee Mission Dist. would be beneficial. Don't assume that it would not be in the best interest of some. Other forms of stimuli may just be what one child may need. As with the Shawnee Mission School District, I feel that all the teachers could have a web page or e-mail address for easy correspondence. A 'Parent Connect' page would be beneficial for many parents to keep ahead of grades and work assignments. I do not know why this hasn't been activated with computer technology today.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Ann School
7241 Mission Road, Prairie Village, KS  66208
(913) 660-1101
Last modified St. Ann School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Ann School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top