Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Horizon Academy 5

Posted April 21, 2012
- a parent
My 4th grade son with a high functioning autism was struggling in the Blue Valley School District. (academically & socially) We decided to send him to Horizon Academy for their summer program & had no intentions of sending him there all year. That all changed once my son went to Horizon over the summer. He loved the teachers, the low student to teacher ratio & all the kids too. He literally begged to go there full time. He has now attended two full summers & is finishing up his second full school year there. He has friends & is making more academic progress than he did in the Blue Valley School District. Horizon Academy is a warm, loving environment for kids with learning disabilities. It has literally changed our son's life in so many positive ways.

Horizon Academy 5

Posted January 13, 2010
- a parent
Horizon Academy offers a multisensory approach to learning where each student's educational program is individualized according to his or her own needs. Each student learns at his or her own rate in a nurturing environment that understands the way a student with learning disabilities learns.


Horizon Academy 5

Posted January 08, 2010
- a teacher
I wish Horizon Academy had been here for my sisters 20 years ago! The teachers and staff do a superior job preparing students to learn in a traditional school setting.

Horizon Academy 5

Posted January 08, 2010
- a teacher
Superior school, individualizes to every student and provides direct, diagnostic teaching to their specific needs so they can return to a traditional setting with significantly increased opportunities for success.

Horizon Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 05, 2010
- a teacher
Horizon Academy is a terrific place to work with a safe, caring atmosphere and the utmost focus on the kids. I love it here!


Horizon Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a community member
Great staff that cares about the students and their success.

Horizon Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a teacher
Horizon Academy is a wonderful place to work. Our staff is very supportive and caring of the students and each other. We teach the whole child and always help them strive to show their personal best in all areas. I love working here!

Horizon Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Horizon Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a teacher
Horizon Academy is a community of dedicated and compassionate (and passionate) teachers, administrators and staff, board members, parents, and most importantly students. We share one common goal...to provide families a carring and respectful learning environment for children struggling with learning disabilities. Students who attend Horizon have the oppotunity to achieve their highest potential. I am inspired everyday by the students I teach and by their families' commitment to our school.

Horizon Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a teacher
I work at Horizon Academy and have never been associated with such wonderful professionals that have great knowledge in special education and superb heart for their students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horizon Academy
4901 Reinhardt Drive, Roeland Park, KS  66205
(913) 789-9443
Last modified Horizon Academy is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Horizon Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top