Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brookridge Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

Both our children attended Brookridge (2005-2014). Overall the experience was very positive. Great, caring teachers that will go out of their way to teach the kids. They do have the standard SMSD Gifted program (once a week off site) which is pretty weak. We never had any problem with either of our kids being appropriately challenged by the teachers. The principal has an actual open door policy: Dr. Adams always listened to and addressed potential concerns we had. With that said, the merger with Moody has brought along some definite growing pains - overcrowding, lunch room 'over-discipline', traffic congestion etc. I am hopeful that SMSD, the leadership, and staff will be able to solve the issues that were caused by the merger. As far as parent involvement . . .GET INVOLVED . . .In the ten years we were there (before and after the merger) it was always the same small group of parents that were at all the events, helped organize, ate lunch with their kids, and were a presence at the school. The parents most likely to complain about parent involvement NEVER show up. And, if you want to know what's going on, CHECK THE WEBSITE! The days of paper reminders sent home are over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2014

We live in this school district and were hoping our children could attend here. After visiting several times and speaking with staff and other parents, we were very disappointed and did not feel our children would flourish here. All the resources here seem to be targeted to children who are below grade level. I saw nothing encouraging regarding activities or programs for children who are at grade level or who are gifted. Upon inquiry we were told that there were maybe 2 students in the school who participated in the Enhanced Learning program which busses them to another school one day per week. On two separate visits there were groups of children watching Max and Ruby videos in the library. The school interior is extremely dark and the classroom doors remain locked. We attended a meeting for prospective boy/girl scouts (an extracurricular program) and there were no attendees (current or prospective) in either of my children's grade levels. It was all in all very disappointing, because when we moved to this area five years ago, the school seemed much better. I guess the merger and the change to a title school has really hurt it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

I like my child's teacher, that being said there are more things I dislike about this school than like. This school is beyond overcrowded. They don't have a music room, assuming a classroom had to take over the previous music room, PE is combined ages. The people working in the lunch room are constantly screaming at the kids. I don't even want to know what they're like when no parents are around of they're that bad when I'm visiting my child for lunch. Parent involvement basically doesn't exist, it's really kind of sad. The car line is an utter mess. They have the kids all stand outside regardless of weather. There are parents cutting in front of you and honking, flying through the lot because they're mad and I even saw one mom smack her child's head because she wouldn't get in the car quick enough. I'm just overall not very happy with the organization and parenting I'm seeing here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

I agree with other comments below. Brookridge is overcrowded. Organization is lacking and parent communication is poor. The merge should have been more thoroughly thought out. To now consider re-evaluating boundary lines and uproot children who have been Brookridge students the entire time due to the overcrowding from the merger, is beyond disappointing. Shame on SMSD for allowing this to happen. The destruction of a wonderful school is in the palm of your hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2013

This school is way too crowded. Since the merger with Dorothy Moody there are way too many kids. All classes are at the state maximum and they have had to take over the art room for additional classroom space. Communication between the school and the parents is not very organized. I think there are a lot of good teachers at this school but leadership seems very lacking. The average student teacher rating listed on this site is comical for anyone who has a child attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

This is a great school, both of my children currently attend. We can't say enough good about the teachers, or their dedication to their students. For example My son was having a hard time with writing (he is left handed and 5 years old) his teacher recommended that he stay after with her to work one on one every Wednesday. That was at the beginning of the year. He now writes better than most of the students in his class. I would definitely recommend this school to any parent. The school does seem a bit crowded. However to the previous poster I would say you can always go to smsd, and print the school calendar; I thought notices sent home were reminders. This IS the first school year since the merging I am sure what didn't work this year will be reviewed and changed. I don't believe the merging of the two schools means that Shawnee Mission "messed up" the only real time it becomes "not comfortable" is dismissal after school. Which by the way has improved since the beginning of the year as well. My children love going to school here, and I love the fact that they are receiving a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

I don't know if it is due to merging with Dorothy Moody Elementary but this school is WAY over crowded! Kids have art on a cart, music in their classrooms, mixed grade gym classes. No advance notice to parents about school events - we found out on Wednesday about an event on Friday....oh and you expect what??? The principal is doing her best, the teachers do their best but Shawnee Mission messed up by pushing so many students into one small existing school with minimal modification. Not cost effective, not comfortable and not working!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

We really love this school. We bought a home in the area, and our son had previously been at another nearby school that we were quite sad to leave... But we would never go back! The opportunities that the children have at this school are far beyond what I expected. The teachers and principal are wonderful and very attentive. The student body is very diverse both ethnically & economically. The programs and curriculum are amazing, and as far as I have noticed they don't "teach to the test" yet still have great scores (though not noted on the Great Schools site, it is listed at smsd.org). I was also very impressed by the amount of time my sons teacher took to really educate, and they used very creative ways to teach, which kept the kids interested & learning! I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

We love Brookridge! They have a great staff, many of which have been here for a long time. I can't say enough good about them. They have been so good for our children. Our experiences here have been positive ones. We have been at this school for 6 years now, and have a child just starting. There are lots of involved parents, and the PTA is fantastic. The rating on here seems low, because this is such a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

I have two children attending this school. Staff and teachers are so dedicated that my kids, with very different learning styles, are flourishing. I wish a higher percentage of parents were involved, but the ones that are involved are superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

Terrific school. Great teachers across all grades. Excellent art & music and a real gem for a Coach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2007

My son attended this school for kindergarden thru second grade. It is a wondeful school that encourges parent involvement. The school has a great music, art and P.E schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

Both my children have attended this scholl since kindergarten and have flourished. The teachers have continually challenged our children to excel. As an ESL sight this school has also offered my children the opportunity for intercultural exposure. The principle is a friendly and professional lady who takes her job seriously. She listens to feedback and acts on it accordingly. School test scores are one of the highest in the district, especially when you factor in the ESL kids who are just leaning the English language!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2003

At first glance, you'd never guess what goes on behind this school's doors. Poor leadership qualities in principal and staff. Teachers that act more like children than the children. I moved to get my kids out of this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

50 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
89%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Hispanic94%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English92%

Reading

All Students81%
African Americann/a
Hispanic82%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities70%
Proficient in English100%

Reading

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Hispanic82%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities80%
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Hispanic94%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities90%
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Hispanic88%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English86%

Reading

All Students85%
African Americann/a
Hispanic77%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities50%
Proficient in English71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students96%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students98%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 67%
Hispanic 28% 17%
Black 8% 7%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9920 Lowell
Shawnee Mission, KS 66212
Phone: (913) 993-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Cross Catholic School
Overland Park, KS



John Diemer Elementary School
Shawnee Mission, KS


Pawnee Elementary School
Shawnee Mission, KS


Bethany Lutheran School
Overland Park, KS


Mt Olive Lutheran School
Overland Park, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT