Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brookwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
Brookwood has an amazing reputation partly because the parents are very involved with almost all facets of the school. The teachers and other faculty are top-notch giving the kids an outstanding foundation to grow from, but having the parents so heavily involved greases all the wheels and provides for a solid learning environment. There's a historical 97%+ PTA participation from families which helps to give this school a reputation of being 'like a private school', but there's also a commitment at the school level including parents who have volunteered to build a PTA website www.brookwoodparents.com, or volunteer with their 'green' programs which help Brookwood win the National Green Ribbon award.

Brookwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
Brookwood is such a fantastic school because of many reasons. First of all, the teachers are top notch. They are caring and committed to each student. The class size is under 22 or less for each class and the children really get the attention that they deserve. Also, the other staff at school are just as committed to the students. There is a real caring that I've never witnessed before. Throughout the year the students work on Random Acts of Kindness which really sets the tone of the school. Academically, the teachers and students work together to achieve high grades and test extremely well. We feel very lucky to belong to such an academic and well rounded elementary school.


Brookwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a community member
I spent 14 years as a parent at Brookwood and only had one bad experience. 14 Years on the board of the PTA and working in the classrooms of my children and others. Brookwood is a great school!

Brookwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
Our first 6 years at Brookwood have been super and I'm sure our next 7 will be full of more of the same. Our education opportunities at Brookwood are second to none and I personally have enjoyed getting involved!! Love it!!!

Brookwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
Brookwood Elementary in Leawood, Kansas, is an old fashioned neighborhood school with enough love and kindness for 20 schools! Children thrive here and teachers come and do not leave! It is nestled among beautiful tree-lined streets, wonderful older homes and is rich in community support and pride. It is a gift that neighborhood children have the opportunity to attend this school. Like many elementary schools in our country, Brookwood struggles with budget cuts and could greatly benefit from an award of $20,000 to enhance learning programs for our students. ~ Corie Mustoe, mother of two


Brookwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2009
- a parent
This truly is a special place w/ a wonderful, caring staff & unbelievable parental involvement & support. We moved 4 years ago to get our oldest daughter in this school & our expectations have been greatly exceeded... Jeff Hill- Parent (& Realtor)

Brookwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2008
- a parent
My son went to school here in Kansas City we used to live there but we moved back to Wichita KS my son liked the people there they are so nice to my son Joyce Campbell- Parent

Brookwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Brookwood Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brookwood Elementary School 4

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brookwood Elementary School
3411 West 103rd St, Shawnee Mission, KS  66206
(913) 993-2500
Last modified Brookwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brookwood Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top