Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Overland Park Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 397 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2013

OPE is a fantastic school! My 2 kids have attended since kindergarten; the oldest graduated to the middle school in May, and my youngest is in 5th grade. There are several new teachers who have brought fun, vitality and innovative teaching styles. I wish more parents would get involved in PTA as it's typically the same ones who help out, but they do so without complaint. The school scores well on state reading and math assessments, and I appreciate the way the teachers push the children to be their best. I've found all teachers to be approachable and flexible when any concerns have arisen. I would definitely recommend the school to anyone moving to the area. Proud to be OPE Bulldogs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

I have a 2nd grader here. We moved from the Columbia, MO school district so there was an adjustment in the beginning. My daughter has made great strides in both math and especially in reading. That being said, I haven't been overly thrilled with anything else. Like someone else said, there is short notice on things, and they are very poorly organized. Her teacher is lack lester at best, she sends homework every night. I personally think every night is a little much considering they have been working for 8 hours already. Bottom line - It's an average school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

Teachers are generally not too engaged with their students. There are a few lovely exceptions, but not many. Also, parent participation is probably very low, because notices are sent home giving parents very little notice of events...sometimes a day before major events and sometimes on the VERY DAY OF THE EVENT! This makes planning impossible and it results in low turnout. That has to discourage dedicated teachers! It also discourages parents and students. The morale at this school definitely needs to be raised! More attention to the schedule and the needs of the parents should be given.


Posted August 2, 2010

I have been a student at OPE for 5 years and I really like 5 of the teachers but the rest are pretty bad. The teacher i had this year was really mean and he yelled at us and laughed at us when we did some thing wrong. at my other school there wasn't any mean teachers and it was really hard getting used to OPE.


Posted May 28, 2008

My daughter just finished Kindergarten at OPE . Her teacher was fantastic. She communicated well with me and my daughter loved her. We enjoyed the movie nights, open house, holiday party and all the other functions the PTA put on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

I have two children at Overland Park Elementary and I have to say that I have never been so disgusted by teachers in any school district. My children have been attending OPE for two over two years now, and the teachers are negative and completely uncaring. I am very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

My child has attended this school for 3 years and I have to say that overall I am pleased. I think the staff generally care about the students and the teachers I have encountered were very receptive to listening to my questions and concerns related to my child's education. My only complaints would be about pick up. It's extremely dangerous because parents just do not follow the rules. It's pandemonium every single afternoon as the parking lot is full and there are cars parked up and down the streets in addition to the circle drive. I am not sure what the solution should be but releasing that many children all at once is certainly not it. I have more than once had to suddenly stop to avoid hitting a child that was running across the parking lot to meet a parent that was unwilling to get out of their car!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

This school has the most patience with my son. We have tried 2 other schools in the Shawnee Mission School District which ended in me pulling him out and homeschooling him because they did not have the best interest of my son. Last year I put him back in school and had numerous problems but still enrolled him this year. However, I have been very dissatisfied overall this year and may pull him and put him in a different school district that takes those out of their district. One of the major problems and there are many I had was at Back to school night. The teacher refused to discuss anything with me regarding my sons schedule, etc. (he is special ed) and said it would be discussed at the IEP meeting which was just ridiculous. Back to school night was a waste of time. Still waiting on the meeting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

The new principal. Mrs. Leah Pearl is outstanding and has a real talent for listening to her students, families and her staff. She has changed our school from oppressive and status quo to one were a student is an individual. She expects your child to do very well and your child in return shows himself and others that YES they are a real success. The PTA program is way below average. Most of the staff is exceptional/ I love this school. The music and art are great. PE needs a better focus. Pick up/ drop off times can be unsafe when parents park at the curb or don't pull up as requested. Library has new books and Mathletics are great, thanks to Mrs. Pearl. IBS scores are great. We need way more critical thinking teachers as new grads. We have lots to be proude of.Thanks Mrs. Pearl for your leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

68 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
71%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Hispanic75%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English73%

Reading

All Students83%
African Americann/a
Hispanic56%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
African Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English70%

Reading

All Students76%
African Americann/a
Hispanic60%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English50%

Science

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Hispanic90%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English100%

Reading

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanic83%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanic79%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English91%

Reading

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Hispanic86%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English82%

U.S. History and Government

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanic79%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 68%
Hispanic 22% 16%
Black 9% 7%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8150 Santa Fe Dr
Shawnee Mission, KS 66204
Phone: (913) 993-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Tomahawk Elementary School
Shawnee Mission, KS


East Antioch Elementary School
Shawnee Mission, KS


Overland Christian Schools
Overland Park, KS


Comanche Elementary School
Shawnee Mission, KS


Brookridge Day School
Shawnee Mission, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT