Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westwood View Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
We transferred into WWV from a school we loved and were sad to leave. The administration and staff quickly won all of us over! I have a first grader and a fifth grader. They both love going to school and both feel challenged. The work load is more rigorous than their previous school. which I appreciate. The parent community is warm and I have felt welcome in all activities. One of the things that impressed me the most about the parent community is the special fund for extra programs for an already outstanding school. Another thing that impressed me is how the kids treat each other. Over and over I see examples of the kids treating each and adults with respect. Both of my kids were welcomed by classmates and immediately invited to birthday parties. If I could use one word to describe WWV it would be eager. They create an environment that sparks curiosity and in turn my kids are eager to learn. The teachers are eager to discuss challenges or achievements of my kids. The administration is eager to support in any way they can. I 100% agree with the posting on Sept. 28, 2015 by another parent. This is simply an outstanding school and I feel blessed to be a part of it.

Westwood View Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I disagree with the last review. I feel as though WWV cares as much about academics as they do about creativity, good citizenship and everything else that goes into making a great school. The parent involvement is outstanding, the teachers care about their students. WWV funds their Spanish program as well as other special projects by funds donated by the families that attend. It's almost like a private school in a public district. There are always opportunities to get involved, you just have to take advantage of them. I wouldn't want my kids to go anywhere else and feel lucky to live in this community.


Westwood View Elementary School 2

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
It's no coincidence the last review was posted in 2012. We had high hopes for this school, but it looks as if administration and staff have caved to stacking the deck to promote their reputation of high test scores as opposed to performing education that stimulates intellect, curiosity and good citizenship. Also, the teachers are young and seemingly inexperienced. If you want a school that is inclusive and welcoming, look elsewhere.

Westwood View Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2012
- a parent
I've seen nothing but excellence from the staff at Westwood View since we moved to Westwood at the beginning of the Spring 2012 semester. Looking forward to many more. Hopefully, the quality of education the institution offers will keep it's doors open. Our daughter was excited to go to school everyday and was actually SAD when summer break began.

Westwood View Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Positive learning environment and exceptional teachers, plus my daughter looks forward to going to school.


Westwood View Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Awesome school!! Full of community, happy students, great teachers! A great place to learn!

Westwood View Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful principal, Ms. Knight, and teachers. We moved here from Louisiana and were so impressed by the caring and concern. Staff are all professional and the small class size is wonderful. The field trips have been fantastic.

Westwood View Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2006
- a parent
My daughter loves Westwood View and I throughly enjoy the integrated themetic teaching. Parents are highly involved. Overall sense of community is amazing


Westwood View Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2006
- a parent
We moved to this area a few years ago specifically for the school. Westwood view offers a great learning environment, top notch teachers and staff, and a wonderful student population. The school draws kids from excellent neighborhoods in Kansas City. The parental involvement at the school is unparalleled, which really makes a huge difference in the resources and activities compared to some other area schools. Westwood View scores 10 out of 10 on our scale in everything.

Westwood View Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2005
- a parent
Westwood View is an amazing school and I, along with the other parents, are so glad that our children are attending. The teachers and staff there are the best there could be. The children can learn in a fun but healthy enviornment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westwood View Elementary School
2511 West 50th St, Shawnee Mission, KS  66205
(913) 993-5800
Last modified Westwood View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westwood View Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top