Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mission Valley Middle School 5

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is currently a seventh grader at Mission Valley and LOVES it. Even though she did not attend one of the three elementary schools that feed into it, she has made tons of friends. If your child is willing to work hard and work with the teachers when they need help, this is the perfect place for them. Not to mention, it feeds into Shawnee Mission East which is considered one of the best, if not THE best high school in Kansas City.

Mission Valley Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers and principal! My daughter has class sizes between 4 kids up to about 28, with an average of 20 per class. The amazing new library is state of the art. We have had professional and prompt communication all around. Couldn't be happier!!


Mission Valley Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is a 7th grader at Mission Valley and loves it. The teachers and administrative staff are terrific. There are lots clubs and outside activities too. There is also a brand new state of the art library that the SMSD spent 1.2 million dollars to renovating.

Mission Valley Middle School 1

Posted February 04, 2010
- a parent
Mission Valley is like a black hole after going to a fantastic grade school such as Brookwood. Outside activities are pretty much minimal in comparison with other SMSD middle schools. Most, not all, teachers are not engaging the students in the love of learning. There is little or no parent community. The best thing about it is that it rolls up to SME. If the lack of leadership and similar issues continue, I will NOT send my youngest child to MV. I WILL send him to SME. But middle school will be somewhere where he doesn't learn to hate school and authority.

Mission Valley Middle School 1

Posted February 04, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mission Valley Middle School 1

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
Parents and kids are great at Mission Valley. Susie Ostermeyer the principal is a micro-manager and kids don't like her so programs suffer under her guidance. Its too bad because its otherwiese a great school. She needs to retire.

Mission Valley Middle School 5

Posted December 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mission Valley Middle School 1

Posted December 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mission Valley Middle School 3

Posted December 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mission Valley Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 15, 2009
- a parent
I've had two children in this school and have been very under-whelmed. There are some good teachers, but very little community, few academic activities, and the leadership is pathetic. The best thing about Mission Valley is that it's only a two-year school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mission Valley Middle School
8500 Mission Rd, Shawnee Mission, KS  66206
(913) 993-0800
Last modified Mission Valley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8
Mission Valley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top