Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Trailridge Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted July 01, 2016
- a community member
My best friend for keeping me from going completely insane there. And me as well.

Trailridge Middle School 1

Posted July 01, 2016
- a community member
This school was the worst experience of my entire life, over 800 kids are crammed into a giant building with little to no windows. It feels like a prison inside. The principals are terrible and focus on discipline instead of encouragement. Students also swear all the time and also harass people in the school. Other than talking to them and giving them a "punishment". The school does almost nothing about kids getting hurt or bullied by their peers and sometimes the bullies don't even face consequences. So many fights happen here, and the only thing they do about it is an out of school suspension. It happens so often to the same kids that they don't even care anymore, and I don't blame them. Sending a child away from the building doesn't change them. They are happy to be away from this miserable place. The student's give no respect to the teachers whatsoever and go as far as to talk about them behind their backs and take pictures of them without their permission. On the second to last day of school, people in one of the lunches weren't behaving. The principal threatened everyone in the lunch and said that if they continued this, they wouldn't be able to come to school and participate in the inflatables party the following day. (this did happen) That isn't a punishment. Kids would obviously rather go home and enjoy their day off rather than being forced into a gym with everyone else in their grade for 3 hours going down slides. Kids on the last day were throwing sandwiches at other people and an entire table that were throwing said sandwiches were removed from the lunch by the principal. There is literally no discipline in this school. There is also a bank nearby that every single year gets robbed and the school is forced to go on lock down and nothing has been done to fix this. This school district was given the privilege of MacBooks. A lot of the students didn't have any respect for them and completely ignored the school's rules. Student's would iMessage during school, and a lot of it would be gossip towards teachers and students. They are supposed to be a learning tool, but students do so much more. There is a "Bully Referral" app, which makes sense. It seems as the principals barely check them, and if they do, don't do much about it. This school ignores a lot of bullying and they say it's taken very seriously. I recommend that you don't go to this school.


Trailridge Middle School 5

Posted August 12, 2015
- a student
I love this school because the kids here are really friendly and polite coming from the schools Mill Creek, Benninghoven, Shawanoe, Ray Marsh, Broken Arrow, Rising Star, and Christa McAuliffe which are all really great schools, me personally coming from Broken arrow know a lot of the kids and they have positive attitudes and are actually really friendly. I don't see why people have such derogatory things to say about it! the Teachers are nice and only want what's best for the kids! I absolutely love this school

Trailridge Middle School 1

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
I dont like this school, i have been told by many of my friends and neighbors not to send my daughter to this school, i wish i listened, my daughter comes home complaining about the fights in school, how the police dog keep searching their lockers, the swearing, the kids making out, i never wanted my daughter to be exposed to these things, but its too late, trust me from a parent, take your kid some where else, my youngest daughter will never be enrolled in this school. my daughters attitude have totally changed and got very bad coming home learning nothing but swearing, even my daughter tells me how much she hates this school.

Trailridge Middle School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
I had two kids go through Trialridge and bridge the school consolidation, where Trailridge doubled in size, and the principal change. The principal change was definitely a positive, because the former principal was phoning it in whereas the new leadership seems enthusiastic and engaged. The huge increase in students wasn't as traumatic as we feared, but it did take a couple of years to get it all worked out. It's nice to see the facilities improvements (new gym, theater stage, lockers, classrooms). The classroom experience seems to be highly teacher and class specific. If at all possible, take the honors-level classes, they aren't as hard as elementary teachers say. The music programs are great, especially jazz band. Intramurals have been re-introduced, so kids can participate in after-school sports year-round (until budget cuts eliminate this perk, again). The biggest Trailridge negative is that there is almost no opportunity for parental involvement. There's a PTA, but they just handle the fundraiser and a few school-wide parties for the kids.


Trailridge Middle School 4

Posted November 18, 2014
- a community member
I'm not a teacher, I'm not a parent, but I do know what goes on in this school and some of the teachers are absolutely fantastic. Others are just collecting a paycheck. I think this can probably said for almost all schools. This is a difficult school to teach in with the large range of diversity including many different languages being spoken. Teachers are asked a lot in some cases. How is a teacher supposed to communicate with a student who speaks little to no English? Parents are another story. Again, this is probably a standard in education but parents accept little to no responsibility anymore for their child's education. They blame everything on the teachers. When a child hasn't turned in an assignment it is the teachers fault. When they fail a test because they didn't study it is the teachers fault. Parents need to take some responsibility for what their children do at home when it comes to school work. Teachers aren't there to babysit their child. They are their to educate them for 7-8 hours a day. The rest of the time they are the responsibility of the parent. This would solve a lot of the problems some of these kids have when they come to school.

Trailridge Middle School 2

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Trailridge has teachers that are well educated and ready to teach. The school has struggles with students that have alot going on in their home life spiling into the classroom and often school time is taken to deal with crisis. My child has a different learning style that requires an IEP. The school is not very understanding of the diagnosis and I have had to routinely talk to teachers to ensure his accommodations are in place. The Principal leadership is new so I can not comment much on them.

Trailridge Middle School 2

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
I can't wait for my child to be done with middle school. His reports of students swearing loudly in hallways and classrooms, the lack of discipline by some teachers, to the point where students can't even hear the announcements, the surly secretary, and lack of communication with parents are just the tip of the iceberg. I've been exposed to better middle schools and it makes me sad to know my son has to endure another year of mediocrity before he can leave this place behind. In all fairness, I will say we have been pleased with a few of his teachers and their efforts to get to know our son as a person, versus treating him as one more cow in the herd.


Trailridge Middle School 1

Posted May 17, 2012
- a community member
I would not recommend sending a child to this school if you care for them just a little bit. The school is rundown and has poor use of funding. You could get a better education in the Favela. There would also be less use of contraband there as well. In most restrooms only one of the three stalls have working locks. They either don't work because of poor installation or [ most likely] because students have broken the locks. There are only windows in FOUR of the 250-some rooms. Also, the principal focuses mainly on punishment and not on encouragement. Going to 'Jailridge" has been the worst experience of my life. If you can send your children to Hocker Grove. The staff are much more caring and there are openable windows in every room.

Trailridge Middle School 1

Posted July 24, 2010
- a parent
No real learning happens here. Trailridge is like a holding cell until the kids can get to high school. The kids are disrespecful and often very mean, although the comments about the teachers being "too strict" are way off. Teachers have to be strict to put up with kids like these. The curriculum is stultifying; it would make the smartest of us want to drop out. The principal is fine. I don't see what the beef is, there. I would suggest homeschooling your kids during the middle school years in Shawnee Mission, so that your kids' self esteem is left intact.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trailridge Middle School
7500 Quivira Rd, Shawnee Mission, KS  66216
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (913) 993-1000
Last modified Trailridge Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top