Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shawnee Mission East High School 5

Posted October 21, 2011
- a community member
I graduated from SME in 1988 and was a coach there later in life for 7 years. SME challenged me and allowed me to quiz out of calculus in college. My physics class was better than the one I had in college. The school continues to produce great kids that are ready to take on the world.

Shawnee Mission East High School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2010
- a parent
awesome school - awesome kids - awesome teachers


Shawnee Mission East High School 3

Posted September 29, 2010
- a community member
SME gets a 3 star rating because of it's academics, the rest is a 1. I've read reviews of transplants who agree the academics are good, but that the culture is repulsive. I've also read reviews of parents and former students who "love" SME in every way. I'm a former student who agrees with transplants. Before 25 I used to think SME was a primo school. With age I've realized there's more to life than materialism and high profile jobs. If you want your kid to grow up and be a robotic culture-eating snob then SME is great. If you want your child to have some diversity any of other Shawnee Mission high schools will provide, giving the same outstanding education that the SMSD is known for. If you're moving here your kid better be a super star or he/she won't be accepted into the SME culture.

Shawnee Mission East High School 3

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
We have one daughter that graduated from SME and two that graduated from SMN; after comparing, we believe that SMN is our 1st choice; SME has an excellent staff and academic curriculum with extracurrical activities; the differences were that our daughter at SMD did not get a lot of diverse friendships due to the amount of wealth in the district and the lack of cultural diversity; with a more diverse population concerning culture and wealth, comparing the two, we feel the outcome was best for our two daughters at SMN; SME was not as proactive with trying to get student involvement in outside activities nor were they as innovative with their academic curriculum to encourage enthusiasm and excitement in the classroom and outside the class for extracurricular activities; our 2 at SMN were drawn into more activities, had more friendships and excelled more in the academics.

Shawnee Mission East High School 5

Posted February 04, 2007
- a student
There really is no downside to SME. Just look at what it has to offer. The basketball team is 12-1, the swim team is looking to make it a three-peat state championship, and every other sport is decent. The debate team has won over ten state championships, the choir is one of the best in the region, as is the orchestra, and the jazz band is top ten in the country. Acamically, it is the best in the area, and one of the largest student-wise, making for a great overall atmosphere. There is no denying that there is little ethnic diversity, but economically there certainly is. There really is not a thing a student could like that they couldn't do at East. It really is incredible the greatness of this school.


Shawnee Mission East High School 5

Posted December 22, 2006
- a student
I'm a Shawnee Mission East '05 grad. In talking with peers who attended public schools throughout KC and the nation, I feel that the education I got at East was absolutely amazing. I took advantage of the AP program, which was engaging and challenging for me, and I feel prepared me well for a rigorous pre-med college curriculum. There are also a lot of extracurricular opportunities. The only thing I don't like about East is the sense of entitlement that most students seem to have, probably because it is an overall very wealthy school.

Shawnee Mission East High School 5

Posted September 23, 2006
- a student
i got to Shawnee Mission East right now and I really really love it there. even though the school is known for being the wealthiest school in the state of kansas it is good for all of us. we get so many more oppurtunities. in just my first month of freshmen year i was in cross country, choir, stuco, and the share program. the choir is the best high school in the country. this last spring break we went to ireland and sang is st. patrick's cathedral on st. patricks day. they were on international tv and have been selected to be in very many honroable events. even though SM East is the wealthiest school in johnson county, the third wealthiest county in the nation, the school is incredible and i have had the most fun going to school going there. i'm proud to be a lancer

Shawnee Mission East High School 4

Posted August 06, 2006
- a parent
I think SME is a great public school. The worst thing about it is it's located in a very wealthy community with little diversity other than socioeconomic. The kids who have less really notice it at this school, and the parents who have more really take advantage of the admin. by running the show. It's also a hard school for kids who want to play sports because so many have played on premier teams, etc., that there's incredible competition. But if you look at academics, it's fabulous. The new emphasis on test results is causing cuts to the cool class offerings, however, as the administration cuts 'unnecessary' classes for more test-prepers. Current admin changes will be a good thing, too.


Shawnee Mission East High School 2

Posted February 03, 2006
- a student
This school has an amazing academic background and many opportunities, but the students at this school are incredibly superficial and often downright rude.

Shawnee Mission East High School 5

Posted April 20, 2004
- a parent
This school brings out the best in its students--in academics, creativity, civic responsibility, leadership, and ethics. They not only promote the academic careers of the students who already have the ingredients for success, they help disabled and disadvantaged achieve incredible results. They are especially good with supporting and mentoring students with Asperger syndrome.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shawnee Mission East High School
7500 Mission Rd, Shawnee Mission, KS  66208
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (913) 993-6600
Last modified Shawnee Mission East High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top