Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shawnee Mission North High School

Public | 7-12 & ungraded | 1623 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 30, 2013

Shawnee Mission north high school is the best out there when it comes to being socially accepting. Coming in as a freshman this year, all I was worried about was "Is high school is bad as everyone says it is?" This one definetely isn't. I am involved in the theatre department and yearbook. It's very difficult to find someone not involved in something. Everyone is always so nice and the honor classes have great expectations. Shawnee Mission North high school so far, is the best thing that has ever happened to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2013

SMN is a great school full of traditions and encouragement. Everyone is welcoming. It's really hard to find a student who isn't involved in multiple activities. The teachers challenge you, and are willing to work with their students and enjoy it. The Drama Department is one of the most inclusive groups. There are many different types of people involved in things like band, sports, DECA, robotics, and Dungeons and Dragons. This is a very diverse, encouraging, and welcoming school. I love attending North.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2013

While attending Shawnee Mission North, I had always heard how well the S.M. schools ranked in the state, and even in national comparisons. I enjoyed my time at North and felt that I received a good education, especially from a public school. It wasn't until just a few years ago, when my employer and I were discussing education and how it can help shape who we are, that I realized how fortunate I was to have gone to a Shawnee Mission High School. My boss grew up in LA, attended Vanderbilt and previous to his VP position at our company, was a teacher/administrator in private education in the D.C. area. He taught classes attended by children of politicians and many of the (so-called) Washington elite. One day, when we were discussing how to solve the world's problems, I relayed to him my thoughts regarding what seemed to be the overall demise of education and halfway joked that maybe it's just that I attended a better school. He said, "Of course you did, you went to a Shawnee Mission school." I asked how he remembered where I went to high school and he said, "Anyone in education knows Shawnee Mission schools. You, for all practical purposes, had a private school education."
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2012

SMNHS ended up being the best thing that ever happened to my daughter during her teen years! We moved from Lee's Summit to Overland Park during her sophmore year in HS. Lee's Summit North was an awful school socially, it's more of a jock school, and the band was too competative, not an inspiring, safe environment. But SMNHS band with Mr Reed...OMG, what a wonderful experience, the district is so lucky to have him. He truly loves what he does, enjoys the kids, has fun with the kids, I can't say enough. Socially, SMN is very accepting, it's diverse, it feels like a community, the kids are passionate at football games, the drama club is spectacular, thank you SMN for a wonderful HS experience for my daughter and her parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

I am currently attending Shawnee Mission North and it is the by far the best out of all the high schools in the Shawnee Mission School District. North is a very diverse school, no doubt; but students have to remember that they what get out of it what you put in. There are many extracurricular activities & a wide variety of classes to choose from. Also, tradition is a very big thing at North. This school is very safe and comfortable, it is very easy to make friends, and students get along very well with teachers. The Drama Department in North is outstanding! Same with the Art Department. There is a beautiful campus, and it has many windows, but since it was built in1922 and kept getting renovated and added on to, the layout is stringy. This school is anything but clique-y.


Posted November 3, 2009

This is the original Shawnee Mission School and it has a beautiful campus. Three generations of my family have gone to school here. I have some very good memories of teachers and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers are great. The class choices exceed other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

My son attended a private elementary and middle school. When it was time to choose a high school, we were torn between a private school and North. I am happy to say that we chose North. My son has been extremely happy there. He is doing exceptionally well, taking both honors and regular classes. We feel he is being challenged by his teachers. He has met many new kids, is involved in numerous activities and sports. He has told me he's glad we made the choice we made. North has a lot to offer if you take advantage of it. A student gets out of it what he or she puts into it. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

I go to North, and it is amazing. I love it so much and would not trade it for any other school I can think of. There is so much diversity at North. All the sports and extracurricular activities enable you to meet and interact with so many different people. One of the best parts of North is all the traditions. We have so many I can't even count them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2009

As a current SM North student, I have a lot of mixed feelings about the school. I came to North from a private middle school where I was academically challenged, but was disappointed to find that North had very low expectations. I don't think it's just the difference between public and private schools, because I've had private school friends who have gone to SM East and SM Northwest and have had much better reports about their schools. That said, I have had a few really good teachers who push their students to excell, and I believe that students who take a rigorous honors curriculum at North will learn something. However, the majority of the teachers aren't that great. Most of them have been mediocre (at best), and a few probably wouldn't be teaching if they were at schools with higher standards.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

Previously submitted review - would like to update after reading guidelines; we have 2 students that graduated in 2006 & 2008; we are so grateful they went to SMN, even when we moved in the West area; they would not change schools; as a teacher and parent, I firmly believe SMN has the best academic curriculum with teachers that are second to none (ie: Yearbook teacher known by many in the midwest); our students began sports immediately as a freshman, and were able to start varsity which enhanced their opportunities for college; other activities such as yearbook participation, pep club, drama, choir and more were of interest due to their superb performances; seeing the school in action was always reassuring as a parent and teacher. Always welcomed anytime, & assisted if needed; Our students both received full ride scholarships based on sports and academics. That sums it up!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

Great place-- staff, programs, facility new administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

I am a former SMN student and all of my younger siblings graduated from there as well (last in '02). Overall North is a fine school. The economic and ethnic/racial diversity at North differentiate it from other wealthier SM schools and in my opinion make it a comfortable and more interesting environment--which is rare for a good school in bland suburban KS. Their arts and theater program are wonderful. Their honors program, when I was there, was very good. Their sports teams always seem to need improvement but are competitive and stimulating and occasionally win titles. Students have lots of opportunity there to succeed academically but they really get out of it what they put into it. North isn't good at pushing a student out of the status quo and their remedial programs need revamping. However, I wouldn't hesitate to send my kids there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 4, 2007

This school is by far the best thing that could have ever happened to my daughter. Before North she was shy and fairly unsocial. She is very bright, and was often bored in middle school because she wasn't challenged. There are a wide variety of academic opportunities at North as well as extra-curricular. Their theatre department is sensational. The students and faculty are committed to keeping up traditions and making North the best of the best. The teachers strive to get to know students and help in any way possible, and the administration is top rate. Tony Lake is an incredible principal, and Eric Rembold is the best associate principal in the district. Diversity there makes students more apt to being ready for the real world. Shawnee Mission North is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

I have had two children graduate from Shawnee Mission North (2003 & 2005). I can not say enough about how wonderful the administration, education, and opportunities are at Shawnee Mission North. The teachers and administration are more than willing to keep parents informed and work through the good and the not so good that occurs in all schools. Academically, there is a wide variety of programs, including honors and AP courses, that allow students to get as much as they want out of the education provided. It has highly rated drama, journalism, and art programs that are the best in the area, winning awards year after year. The diversity within the school allows the students to experience the real world with real people. SM North provided a wonderful experience and one that we would not trade for any of the schools in the 'richer' areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

Shawnee Mission North is, in my opinion, the best school in the Shawnee Mission District and also one of the best schools in the state and country. While quite a few parents in the district accuse North of having a violent school environment, I can say from a first-hand experience that is not the case. On the many occasions that I was in the school, I did not see nor did I hear of any such incidents happening. But on to the reasons that North is a great place for your child to attend. Not only does North have excellent athletic facilities, coaches and teams, but it has academics that can rival most schools in the area. The extra-curricular activities are simply amazing with the choices ranging from robotic club to debate and forensics to marching band. North is also very diverse and prepares a student for the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

SMN is a truly outstanding school with a decided emphasis on academic excellence. Shawnee Mission is one of the top rated public school districts, and North is one of the best. They have a wide array of classes and programs available.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 24, 2005

I think this school is not a violent school by any means, moving from a school in Chicago to here this school was so peaceful...the students respect their teachers, the students are a lot better behaved, now I do have a problem with the teachers. I think they should try more to intereact with their students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2004

I went there for two years, and I will never step foot into that school again.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 3, 2004

North has some problems. Not being able to keep track of their students during the regular school hours is one of them. I have a big problem with the student bearing 100% of the responsibility for their actions when the school reinforces those same bad behaviours. Otherwise, I think the staff and administrators deal very well with the normal day to day activities in the school. They have provided a good deal of support for my son and I anticipate that that will continue. I think the school does a great job with the caliber of kids they have there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2009.

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

377 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

384 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

385 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

404 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

422 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
African American84%
Hispanic81%
Multi-ethnic84%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities87%
Proficient in English82%

Reading

All Students92%
African American84%
Hispanic85%
Multi-ethnic83%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities88%
Proficient in English72%

Science

All Students87%
African American78%
Hispanic70%
Multi-ethnic84%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities68%
Proficient in English66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students84%
African American79%
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnic83%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities66%
Proficient in English64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 67%
Hispanic 19% 17%
Black 9% 7%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7401 Johnson Dr
Shawnee Mission, KS 66202
Phone: (913) 993-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Antioch Middle School
Shawnee Mission, KS


Overland Christian Schools
Overland Park, KS


Hocker Grove Middle School
Shawnee Mission, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT