Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Shawnee Mission, KS
Students enrolled: 1,818

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 1

Posted October 16, 2013
- a student
In my experience at SMNW, it was the worst school i have ever seen. Students bully other students constantly, threatening each other, singling out other students, drug use, etc. The school administration does next to nothing about bullying. However, many teacher at SMNW are very qualified in their own fields, and deserve much better than the students and the administrations have to offer them. When i went to the school, i had to transfer out to another high school 11 miles farther because i was bullied and the administration did nothig about it. But again, i miss many wonderful teachers that on occasion i will see at a football game or other activity involving SMNW and my new school. Would i ever recommend going to this school? only if you are a sports jock who doesnt care about other students or teachers. other than that, i would recomend looking at a different school. and remember, this is a review from a former student that had to transfer because of bullying.

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 3

Posted July 24, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are great and very caring, for the most part. So is the staff in general. The worst thing is that it's a rich kids' school. As in, spoiled rich kids. If you aren't rich or if your parents aren't well known, you're nobody and you will be treated as such (by the other students). If you are an introvert, then you'd better develop some thick skin because you WILL be picked on or treated like you aren't there at all. School uniforms would eliminate about 80% of the problem.


Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 4

Posted June 14, 2009
- a student
SMNW has really a great academic program and also a good sports program - esp. if you're interested in cross country or track. Most of the teachers are good - but like any school there's a few acceptions. Not as bad as a reputation as some people give it. And it's a lot better than most schools in the area - a lot less of the 'cliques' go on since it is a bigger school.

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 5

Posted July 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 3

Posted March 26, 2008
- a student
Academically, this school is fine. Socially, if you do not fit into a clique, your high school career will be awful. Teachers and administration do nothing to help students that do not socially fit in. On the bright side, if you do fit into a group, the school has a lot to offer.


Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 3

Posted February 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 4

Posted July 19, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 4

Posted October 26, 2006
- a student
Because of No Child Left Behind, their accreditation is being closely scrutinized. This does not accurately reflect the school. It is an excellent school. They received a blue ribbon a few years ago. Northwest is also in the process of starting the International Baccalaureate program, with attracts very motivated, high achieving students. An award winning journalism department, Thespian Troupe (drama), choir, band, and orchestra truthfully depicts the emphasis that this school places on the arts. Also, the cross country team is the best in the state, and has been for the past 12 years. The administration is somewhat stubborn and resistant to change, and does not give students a workable to voice opinions, however.


Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 3

Posted August 15, 2006
- a parent
This school has excellent staff and great opportunities. However, the student body, like most rich Johnson County schools, are pathetic. They care more about sports and partying than they do about the academics. This school is verging on the ONLY school in JOHNSON COUNTY that is not fully accredited. I would recommend this school, but if your child tends to be picked on, avoid like the plague.

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 4

Posted February 27, 2006
- a former student
Great variety of academcic programs and extracurricular activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School
12701 West 67th St, Shawnee Mission, KS  66216
(913) 993-7200
Last modified Shawnee Mission Northwest High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shawnee Mission Northwest High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top