Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Shawnee Mission, KS
Students enrolled: 1,420

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shawnee Mission South High School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a student
I recently transferred to Shawnee mission south from SMNW because of the bullying and lack of stopping said bullying at SMNW. Transferring to south was the best decision of my life. There are lots of cliques, yes, but everybody actually wants to be your friend, unlike at a lot of school. I came into the school year knowing no one, now its the end of the 1st quarter and i have made +50 friends and many other acquaintances. The teachers and staff are outstanding. they are actively involved with the student body and care about the students. students value the education and i have never seen bullying at the school. everybody is friendly. Best school in the Shawnee mission district from a students point of view.

Shawnee Mission South High School 3

Posted July 21, 2012
- a student
I currently go to South now, and let me say, it's a great school. If you don't make friends easily or a little socially awkward, this school will eat you and spit you out. If you are good with people and have money, WAY TO GO! South is for you. The people in south can be harsh, but if you find the right group this is the best school ever. The teachers are amazing and the sports are pretty amazing too;) good luck if you become a Raider!


Shawnee Mission South High School 5

Posted April 26, 2009
- a student
South was a great place to go to high school. The school has one of the smaller class sizes in shawnee mission and allows for students to have more opportunities to have leadership positions and make sports teams. The staff and administration is all there for the right reasons.

Shawnee Mission South High School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shawnee Mission South High School 4

Posted June 30, 2008
- a parent
All five of our children attended SMS and were involved in diverse activities and classes including special education, cheerleading, orchestra, foreign language clubs, student council, etc. The caring staff and supportive families foster a great learning experience.


Shawnee Mission South High School 1

Posted January 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shawnee Mission South High School 4

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shawnee Mission South High School 5

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
I just transfered my child from Shawnee Mission North to Shawnee Mission South. It's night and day. So far it has been a great experience, the staff is very pleasant and helpful and my daughter can now enjoy school and focus on her studies without worrying about when she will be 'jumped' in the hall way. It's nice to see her walk in the building smiling.


Shawnee Mission South High School 4

Posted March 25, 2004
- a parent
Shawnee Mission South High School offers an outstanding education for students. The academic student is able to enroll in honors classes in math, science, and english. Advanced Placement courses are available for 11th and 12th grade students. The music department is excellent in its offerings of Band, Orchestra, and Choral classes. The Drama Department presents several productions each year that are impressive. The administration is committed to having a safe and educationaly enriching curriculum with an outstanding teaching staff. The students have great school pride and the atmosphere is positive. Shawnee Mission South students rank among the highest in national test scores.

Shawnee Mission South High School 5

Posted January 10, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shawnee Mission South High School
5800 West 107th St, Shawnee Mission, KS  66207
(913) 993-7500
Last modified Shawnee Mission South High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shawnee Mission South High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top