Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rising Star Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
I love this school. My kids are currently enrolled here & have been there for several years. So far we've had only one teacher that was just okay & the rest were fabulous. They go above & beyond to make learning fun and the principal even works to make sure he knows every child's name (with 600+ students - that's impressive). The PTA is very active & helps the school run smoothly. The fact that the principal works well with the PTA also makes for a better school in my opinion. Yes, the class sizes are between 20-24 but that is a state set standard - not a school standard. Yes, about 10% of the parents participate in the PTA but we are living in a world where I think that's the norm & the parents that do chip in, do it with a smile. The diversity at Rising Star can't be beat & for me makes this school even better. I really can't say enough about Rising Star. Is this school perfect? No. But the staff, principal & PTA are always working to improve each year and I think the school pride is one of the best around. Our school motto is: "Together we shine!" & we do! :)

Rising Star Elementary School 2

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
Average class sizes are between 20-24 students. Most teachers seem over worked/over stressed. It seems the students are always preparing or taking state testings.


Rising Star Elementary School 3

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Just like many schools, this school has it's positive and negative points. Some teachers shine while others are lackluster. There is an active PTA, but membership is low and the same people are asked to have significant positions year after year because they're good, but also because the parents who choose to participate are limited. The school has a decent amount of diversity which is great from the perspective of exposure to lots of ethnic backgrounds, cultures, etc., but in many cases (in my limited experience with a Kindergartner this year), it seems like these families depend more on their own communities as opposed to joining in the school community. My child has enjoyed his Kindergarten experience, and I am generally happy with the school. I am especially a fan of the art and music teachers. Also, from participating in the classroom from time to time, I wholeheartedly appreciate the participation of paras and other special needs staff and the work they do.

Rising Star Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
I had 3 kids go through Rising Star and all three had wonderful experiences. One needed extra help with reading and the learning center teacher was incredible! He learned study skills that helped through out his school years.

Rising Star Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is in Kindergarten at Rising Star. When she was in preschool I let the test scores sway me at first. We were going to switch her to another school. I am blessed that the other school was not accepting transfers. I have never been more pleased with a school, its teachers, its students and the principal as I am with Rising star. All they care about is making your child the best they can be emotional, socially and educationally. I could not have asked for a better place for my child to attend.


Rising Star Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2008
- a parent
The 4 rating for this school is laughable. This is a typical Johnson county gradeschool with excellent resources, class sizes and a good mix of socio-economic groups. Probably the reason for the 4 is that the 1 ratings for Hispanic and multi-ethnic because there are several immigrant families with kids there that are just coming on-line to english...note how the score goes up by grade. To me this is indicative that the school develops the students.

Rising Star Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
Rising Star is a great school. It is extremely diverse - racially, economic, and socially- for most of your Shawnee schools. The principal, Mr. Lash is starting his second year, but he is extremely accessible and has the background to really get involved with all the kids. What I love, is that the teachers are open and involved. I have friends with children who attend several of the other schools around here and there are limits on everything from how many room parents are allowed per classroom, to walking your kid to their classroom in the morning. Rising Star is very open and if you are willing to volunteer they are happy to have you. I have two children who currently attend and I believe they are getting a very substantial education.

Rising Star Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2006
- a parent
This is a fantastic school! Although the princaipal just retired he was great! Of course I would not be able to tell you about the new principal. All of the teachers are concerned in the students learning and are willing to help them with homework after school. My daughter has learned more than I ever thought she would and in many areas is smarter than myself.

Nearby schools

Rising Star Elementary School
8600 Candlelight, Shawnee Mission, KS  66215
(913) 993-4500
Last modified Rising Star Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top