Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Shawnee Mission, KS
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hope Lutheran School 2

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
This school is not the same school as it use to be. Unfortunately a school that once thrived on Christian beliefs now has resorted to being deceitful in all aspects. The teachers just go through the motions, they have been at the school for too long & lost their love of teaching. If your child needs any extra help in their studies the school will tell you they are not equipped to help your child. The teachers do not have the patience or skills to give any extra help. The teachers are not knowledgeable in the new standards of the core curriculum & are not wanting to learn it. There was a long standing family that fell on hard times, they were looking for some financial assistance but were told they either paid their tuition or they would need to leave the school. Some school policy's are not written in the handbook but children are being punished. There is a dress code that is to be followed but some children do not have to follow the guidelines. If the child is a teachers favorite depends on if they will be punished or not. If your child is tardy to school 4 times they are required to have "private dinning" which is they are to sit all alone in the lunchroom at lunch time and not speak to anyone else.There is a split between the school and the church. The school and church do not consider themselves as one cohesive unit. The teachers blame everything on the Pastor for all the problems the school has instead of realizing they (the teachers) are the problem. This past year around 10 staff members left the school and the previous year the principle and his wife, a teacher, left suddenly. One class this year had lost 90% of its students. Instead of this particular teacher being held responsible the school is blaming the parents of the class. This Fall the school attendance is way down, the only new students are the families receiving the free first year tuition. The yearly auctions purpose is to enhance the school but is spent on text books and teachers salaries not on school improvements. (Shouldn't tuition cover text books & salaries) Strangers have been found wondering the halls as they can walk in through the church doors and roam freely at all times. (there are no safety doors separating the church & school) This is a huge safety issue for the children! Please take the time to research this school thoroughly before considering it for your child.

Hope Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
Some of the teachers are very nice and kind. You will know which teachers they are because the children just love them. I can honestly say there are a couple of teachers that should not be a teacher at this school or any other school ever.


Hope Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
My child came home with hours worth of home work each night. I did not understand what they did all day at school. What was the teacher teaching them during school time if they had this much homework to do after school.

Hope Lutheran School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
It is a Christian school so there is Christian teachings every day but some teachers are hypricates. Some teachers act one way in front of parents and then act a completely different way around the children.

Hope Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
There are some teachers that are outstanding at this school. But the teachers that are terrible do not have to take responsibility for their actions. The school covers up any problems


Hope Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
No, athe student is always wrong.The teachers are never wrong, they do not take responsibility for their actions.

Hope Lutheran School 5

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter has been going to Hope Lutheran School since pre-school and we couldn't be happier. This is a wonderful place to send your children to school. The staff is wonderful and very friendly. I couldn't imagine my daughter going anywhere else and feel truly blessed to have found Hope.

Hope Lutheran School 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
Our son started kindergarten at Hope this past Aug. and we feel truly blessed to have him enrolled in such a caring, compassionate school. The student/teacher ratio is outstanding which allows all students to receive individualized attention. His teachers have done an excellent job of spurring our son's curiosity and love of learning, both academically and in the Christian faith. They offer a wide variety of extracurricular activites for the students as well. We couldn't be happier to have our son at such a great school!


Hope Lutheran School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
Outstanding school. We have seen our son grow leaps and bounds academically and LOVE the small student to teacher ratio. It allows the teachers to give more individualized attention and tailor the lessons to what works for each child. The principal greets each student by name at the door in the morning and the faculty and staff make an effort to know each family. The older students mentor the younger students, and the school participates in several service projects. The students have a strong sense of community and the world. It has been such a blessing to see our son grow in Christ during his years at HLS.

Hope Lutheran School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
We have two children that attend HLS. It has been an amazing place for both our kids. They are both blessed to have individualized attention from the caring staff. Both kids have grown both academically as well as in their knowledge of Christ. The school offers small class sizes which allow the students individual needs to be recognized and met. As a parent, it has been such an advantage to know each family in our kids class. I feel that my kids are truly loved by the staff as well as the parents of Hope.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hope Lutheran School
6308 Quivira Rd, Shawnee Mission, KS  66216
(913) 631-6940
Last modified Hope Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Hope Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top