Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Shawnee, KS
Students enrolled: 1,138

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mill Valley High School 2

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
The school has many excellent offerings whether it be extracurricular or academic. The parents are involved and it has a good community feel. There is a rampant drug/alcohol problem that is semingly dismissed or ignored by either parents or staff. Unfortunately to the detriment of the students and school district it is crowed and getting more and more crowded by year. The next two middle school classes coming in are large and will make things very uncomfortable (students barely have time to eat lunch now) for the students and faculty. This could have been avoided with a recent boundary change that would have benefited both high schools in the district while keeping the academic standards high at both schools. Unfortunately athletics will be affected negatively at Mill Valley with no boundary change forcing the school to compete at the 6A level in the coming years. This has already been witnessed this year in football. We have a wonderful school district with limitless opportunities for students. Next time my hope is the BOE will make a decision based on what is best for the school district and not cave in to pressure from a select group of parents.

Mill Valley High School 1

Posted September 03, 2014
- a student
This school is drug ridden also known as pill valley, administrations turns away from stopping the problem. This school is in need of a major over hall in how it is run.


Mill Valley High School 4

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
Mill Valley has been a good school for my three children. It has significantly improved academically over the years and is becoming a GREAT school. There is a core group of "rock star" teachers your students definitely want to experience, ie., Mattingly, Habiger, Bogart, Keal, Dunback, Wieland, Strickland, Paredes, Chavez, DeWild, Swafford, Crosbie, H. Brown, just to name a few. These are teachers that traditionally teach honors or AP but well worth the effort!!!! The school has increased in size recently but it is not so big, where with reasonable effort, your child can succeed in sports, clubs, etc....However, be aware, many of the typical students are more interested in parties than the purpose of an education. Be proactive as a parent! Get to know your kids friends and parents before assuming they have the same values as you. Drinking among the student body is common and unfortunately, drugs are readily available, The "no tolerance" rule needs to be more consistently enforced among the teams and clubs. If you child says they are going to a party, there WILL be alcohol AND drugs. Going to these parties should be avoided. Parents, plan a supervised, safe alternative!

Mill Valley High School 1

Posted August 15, 2012
- a student
For many years I've had issues with this school and the district in general. It all started when I wished to transfer back to public high school after a year at private school. The teachers and administration would not help me get things in order nor would they get involved in any way. When I had problems they didn't help and I know I'm not the first these problems. Also they do not allow students to excel or graduate early and could care less about a student's future or ambitions. All it seems Mill Valley cares about is sports and looking good on paper. They do not actually care about students and their educations.

Mill Valley High School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mill Valley High School 5

Posted August 09, 2009
- a parent
The environment that this school establishes is very positive for me and my teen. The activities, programs, and such offers so many pathways my child can pursue a desired career.

Mill Valley High School 5

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mill Valley High School 4

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mill Valley High School 4

Posted December 09, 2007
- a parent
I am not an easy fan of public education but I have found MVHS to be excellent. Academically they provide opportunity for students to excel and the teachers are superb. I would recommend the district to anyone seeking a quality school.

Mill Valley High School 2

Posted September 24, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mill Valley High School
5900 Monticello Rd, Shawnee, KS  66226
(913) 422-4351
Last modified Mill Valley High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mill Valley High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top