Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Randolph Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 412 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2011

both of our children went to randolph, kindergarten through fifth-grade. thank you teachers for providing a solid educational foundation for our kids. also a great community - fall festival, ice cream social, arts night, math night, halloween parade, etc. couldn't have asked for a better elementary school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

Both of my daughters attended Randolph elementary and we loved it there! Great teachers, great environment. I recommend Randolph to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

I've had my 2 kids in this school after dealing with another local school and will see if it still holds true with the recent changes in administration, but here is what I have learned, they crack down on the bullying problems to non existence, kids like going to school, "mine" have excelled in all areas because of the structure involved, the candy awards I don't agree with but Ive not noted it in excess except during various celebratory times, parental participation is higher than most school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

I don't understand why everyone loves this school. The teacher we ended up with uses candy as a reward for bringing back papers and for teaching. She also doen't seem to even know what is happening in her classroom based on what I've seen. I went to help my child put on their halloween costume for their parade and the teacher said "I think ____ MIGHT be in the bathroom or the library." Now keep in mind, our child is five years old and there were many people milling around that school for the halloween festivities. We won't be going back to Randolph.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

They had good teachers, and helped all four of our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

My daughter is being challenged academically, and her teacher creates an atmosphere where each child can develop their invidividual personality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

All of my children go or did go to Randolph and I wouldn't send them anywhere else. Neighborhood is great, and my kids are learning so much. Thanks to the staff at Randolph, you do so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

Randolph is in the middle of a nice community and is a true neighborhood school. They have a caring staff that gets the most out of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

58 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Hispanic83%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities50%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students73%
African Americann/a
Hispanic33%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities33%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Hispanic74%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities85%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students81%
African Americann/a
Hispanic68%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities79%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Hispanic90%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities92%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 67%
Hispanic 20% 17%
Two or more races 12% 4%
Black 10% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 SW Randolph Ave
Topeka, KS 66604
Phone: (785) 438-4480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT