Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Topeka, KS

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Topeka West High School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
Outstanding school. Teachers are well infirmed of students needs & most are available after hours to assist students; something that is rare today. Parents are treated as equal partners in their students education, a very refreshing idea. Mostly, the atmosphere is academic achievement & student diversity is welcomed. Students challenged to think outside the box, creativity & individuality is actually encraged, a combination my student has thrived in, especially stating her feelings of acceptance. She has yet to witness fighting which is something I can't say about other high schools in town. She has received honors and o never would've expected that. Teachers willingn

Topeka West High School 5

Posted December 20, 2010
- a student
An excellent school! Topeka West High School has been like a second home for me. It has defined who I am and helped me realize who I want to be. Although this year we have an interim principle, he has done a very nice job adjusting and continuing to help West succeed. The Boomerang Mentors Program has been in existance for just over 5 years now, and it has been a huge success with the entire school atmosphere. The students want to be a part of the program and want to make a difference in their school. As a senior, I can say that I have seen a huge increase in the amount of school spirit at West. I have an overwhelming sense of pride to attend Topeka West and am proud to say that I am a Charger For Life!


Topeka West High School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Topeka West High School 5

Posted July 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Topeka West High School 3

Posted January 21, 2009
- a student
It's a normal high school.The outdoor campus is amazing on nice warm days. The only bad parts are rain and snow.


Topeka West High School 4

Posted November 07, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Topeka West High School 5

Posted November 25, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Topeka West High School 4

Posted April 24, 2006
- a parent
I have had 3 children attend Topeka West and have for the most part been satified as long as my children are in the honors track classes. Some of the teachers are the best in the business, really caring about the children and striving for excellence. On the dissappointing side, regular classes are sometimes so watered down that they are not challenging at all. There is a significant number of students who simply don't do homework or turn in assignments. Parents need to be more active at parenting their children, and avoid blaming the schools. Team work can turn the tide.


Topeka West High School 4

Posted December 06, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Topeka West High School
2001 SW Fairlawn Rd, Topeka, KS  66604
(785) 438-4000
Last modified Topeka West High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Topeka West High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top