Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
312 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cair Paravel Latin School 5

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Our sons have attended Cair Paravel Latin School since kindergarten. They are now a Freshman and Senior. Competitive sports, performing on stage from kindergarten and beyond in theater productions, opportunities to shine in choir, scholar's bowl and more are offered at CPLS. One of the highlights of CPLS are the yearly tours beginning in 5th grade. A love and appreciation for travel is nurtured as students, parents and teachers travel the country each spring. Oklahoma City, Washington D.C., New York, Dallas, San Francisco, Houston, and St Louis are just a few of the cities they visit. Upon graduation, our sons will be well prepared for higher education and to take their place in the world. Critical thinking along with a strong Christian foundation will serve them well. It's more than a school, it's a way of life and service.

Cair Paravel Latin School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Very Godly men and women dedicated to teaching their students in the subjects presented and beyond. They make it their mission to model good Christian discipleship.


Cair Paravel Latin School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
For our sons the homework seems to be challenging, but not overwhelming. CPLS students are brought along step by step steeped in the classical model . By the time they reach senior year they are capable to compete and more importantly flourish in the collegial environment.

Cair Paravel Latin School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely! By teaching the classical Christian model we are growing kids that have expectations taught from kindergarten forward. While the model is strenuous, the expectation is firmly rooted from administration, teachers, parents and even older students that the work, while challenging, is doable by hard work, encouragement by all and God's grace.

Cair Paravel Latin School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
CPLS has a mission, and each student is expected and encouraged to help spread the love and truth of Christ. The children have an integral part to play in fulfilling the schools tenets as to what constitutes a Christian man or woman.


Cair Paravel Latin School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
CPLS IS A COMMUNITY OF BELIEVERS, dedicated to the lordship of Jesus Christ. We attempt to glorify God in all we do. To serve as a beacon to Christ's love for all.

Cair Paravel Latin School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Religious studies, study and discussion of ancient Roman and Greek great works instill a classical approach to learning and life.

Cair Paravel Latin School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
We have two young kiddos (soon to be three) at CPLS. We are thrilled God led us here. CPLS really is a family. The brilliant faculty and staff encourage and shape students' minds with God at the center. The administration and board are diligent in their duties and great caretakers of this institution. They strive to make a great place even better. We couldn't ask for more. It can be a financial strain, but we are reminded daily that this investment pays huge dividends for life!


Cair Paravel Latin School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
My 3 children attended Cair Paravel from kindergarten and graduated from high school a few years ago. Their education has served them well throughout college and into life. Their experiences at CPLS (travel, sports, musicals, dramas, etc.) and the breadth of their educational opportunities (art, music, literature, etc.) have made them very well-rounded. The teachers were almost universally compassionate, caring and helpful. They never "taught to a test" but the students always performed well. Faculty shared their lives and their faith and challenged my children's beliefs and as a result my children's faith is secure and rooted in the Savior alone. Yes, it was expensive. My husband is a blue-collar worker and the tuition required sacrifice, but it was completely worth every penny when I see the result of young adults with strong families, strong faith and a great education.

Cair Paravel Latin School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
We love Cair Paravel! The school is challenging academically. Teachers help students ponder questions and dissect materials that I didn't approach until college, and the kids rise to the expectations. CPLS graduates historically do very well in college because they have learned how to study, analyze, write and present ideas. The CPLS curriculum integrates God into every class. The school has one of the finest music and arts programs in the area. This improves their public speaking abilities, encourages their creativity and increases their self-confidence at an early age. One of my favorite things about this unique school are the tours. Beginning in 4th grade, each class goes on a fun, educational tour. See http://www.cpls.org/current-students/tours/ for more information about these trips. Your child will be challenged, encouraged and loved as a student at Cair Paravel Latin School (yes, they do learn Latin as part of a classical education. For more on what that means, go here: http://www.cpls.org/about/classical-education/). I encourage your family to come and walk the halls and you will feel the difference at CPLS.

Nearby schools

Cair Paravel Latin School
635 SW Clay Street, Topeka, KS  66606
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (785) 232-3878
Last modified Cair Paravel Latin School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top