Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ The King School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Topeka

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

The only good thing about this school is the parent involvement. The school is lacking leadership from a principal who is rarely around and doesn't want to be bothered with the happenings around the school. The overall quality of the teaching staff is poor. In the five years our child attended CTK, he only had one quality teacher. Tutoring in encouraged by the teachers at an extra cost because the students are not getting taught what they need to while in class. Class sizes continue to decrease because everyone is taking their children out of CTK and enrolling them in Auburn-Washburn. They were only a few students away from one kindergarten classroom this school year. If you have a child going to this school, I encourage you to observe in your child's classroom unannounced one day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2014

Love Christ the King! Best choice we could have made for our daughter! Great teacher and staff! She loves going to school everyday and the kids are so well behaved! She has made great friends!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

This school COULD be so great! Bullying is a huge issue. The principal is part time and out of touch with the happenings of her school. She doesn't do anything about complaints made by parents. If you are unhappy typically you just leave. Also, the quality of teaching is poor. If your child has any special needs in education you are out of luck. It is not uncommon for students to pay teachers a high premium for tutoring outside of class just to maintain passing grades. And these students should not need tutors to begin with! I still support the parish & church. I refuse to pay private school tuition for a school that is not worth the extra investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2013

This is a great school. Strong Parent participation. Academics are emphasized. Well trained staff. Would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

Last year my son had a teacher at CTK that should not have been teaching. She broke his spirit and made him feel stupid. This year we are at a public school that when you walk in the door you can feel the positive attitude and the commitment to education and good character. The principal is VERY involved. My son is excited to go to school and is excelling at his academics. Bullying is NOT an issue. I wanted a Catholic education for my son. But, as a parent I could not continue taking him to a school that I did not believe in. We still attend mass and enjoy being part of the parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

We enrolled our children at Christ the King expecting an education that exceeds that of a public school both academically and socially. Instead our children are academically behind students their age in the public schools in our area. We might be able to overlook this were they receiving a strong Christian foundation. But they are not. Instead they daily witness bullying and belittling behavior from both students and staff. This behavior should not be a part of a Christian school and we are disappointed that it is tolerated. An absentee principal and numerous unprofessional teachers serve to promote this climate. Attending mass twice a week does not compensate for an environment that condones meanness when the expectation is that this is a Christian institution. Despite this, there are a number of very good teachers and many wonderful families at this school. We are members of this church community and our children's friends are here. It would be difficult for us to leave, but we often wish we hadn't chose this school to begin wth. We continue to believe in Catholic schools, just not THIS one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

This is a great school!! We have been in the public school system as well as CTK. New's for those that gave bad reviews because of bullying..... it is everywhere & especially in 437. And as for money talking? It talks alot in the 437 school district also. And gossip? Please! Again I can refer back to WR School district. Catholic Schools do tend to be behind in technology but that has not proven to help our children become smarter people. My husband and I did not have smart boards in our classroom and he managed to become a doctor & I am also a professional. In short, this is a good school. Provides a great education. A lot of the teaher's do a great job & we have been happy. I especially like that I know a lot of the families and feel comfortable sending my children over for play date's & sleep over's without worry. I guess I am 'old school'. I like the uniforms and the fact that the environment is more strict. Kids are growing up way too fast now with minimal supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

We were really disappointed in the lack of preparation CTK provided for high school, especially in the areas of Science, Math and technology. It was alarming to find out that although they met the standard of excellence in Math as a school, there were several grade levels that did not. How come we weren't told that? We were lucky enough to have two great teachers, but the others were not effective teachers and a few were down right mean! Science is taught straight out of the textbook with no hands-on experience. Finally this year we have heard that CTK now has projectors in the classroom after the archdiocese insisted they get up to speed with the other Catholic schools. They are still way behind with no smart boards in classrooms. Public school blows them away in the technology department. We wish the principal would have been around more and made sure the curriculum and technology was up to date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Great school with a great principal and good teachers. It is a top performer academically and yet gracefully teaches our catholic values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Excellent school. The mix of faith and leadership make this school a wonderful environment. I find the kids and families to be very kind and it is a very parent involved school. Proud to be a CTK school parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

I would not recommend this school, there is a big problem with bullying, and little to nothing was done when brought to the attention of the staff. Also, there are a few good teachers, but in my opinion, many of the teachers are not all that great. Finally, there is a lack of Christian morals and values at this school as there is a lot of gossip that goes on with the parents, staff, and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

As a parent with two children at CTK, I wouldn't send them anywhere else. The Principal and the teachers have always been available to discuss whatever concern or question I have had. You will always find conflict, whether in public school or private school, it's how you handle the resolution that matters. And you will always find someone who is not satisfied, whether in public school or private. If you are new to our community, visit our school and staff, talk to parents who have their kids there. Sincerely, Linda Caudill
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

To compare it to the AT&T commercials, CTK is soooo 47 seconds ago. From a lack of technology to "old school" style teaching methods, CTK lacks necessary skills for the 21st century. Poor leadership by a principal who is rarely at school and many teachers who don't know how to teach or should have chosen a different profession. There are some really good teachers, but the bad far outweigh the good. Class sizes are large and students aren't getting the individual attention many of them need. Don't let the beautiful school on the outside fool you. What we found inside was a very disppointing experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

This school has gone down hill. Our daughter went there but we had all kinds of problems with bullying. We tried to talk to the principal of the school but she seemed to be gone all the time or she was busy. There was a lot of gossiping at the school and problems between the have and have nots. Money talks loudly in this school. There was a lack of discipline also which is why we went to a catholic school in the first place and there was not much to offer compared to public schools. In our opinion, it had less to offer academically than other schools and found our daughter was behind when she switched. We also felt there was a lack of christian values in the school. Since we switched, our daughter has excelled both socially and academically. We were so glad we made that decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

Not a good experience for our children at Christ the King anymore. Our oldest went to the preschool and continued in the grade school. It was fine years ago. As the years have gone by we have seen more and more decline in the quality here. Poor leadership and some staff members that do just the bare minimum have led us to question whether or not our younger children will stay at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

We were completely unhappy having our children at this school. There are a number of unprofessional and unfriendly staff members that gossip about the students and families and favor some families over others. There are some lovely staff members and students, but we didn't feel it was worth paying more to attend a Christian school when Christian values are not always present.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

My two children attend CTK..we have had a semi positive time there. The staff is wonderful and caring however there is some double standards that probally go on in any school. It seems sometimes money talks pretty loud. Soically the students seem to get along well and work to inculde all members of their classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 67%
Hispanic 6% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Kansas City
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5973 Southwest 25th Street
Topeka, KS 66614
Phone: (785) 272-2220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT