Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washburn Rural High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1744 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2013

I am a parent and have been very involved in this school. It's teachers and administrators are top notch. I was very disappointed to read the previous post and have to wonder if that person really knows what they are talking about. WRHS has the highest rates of achievement on state assessments, on the ACT and over 95 percent of it's students graduate. Not to mention the school was recently named as one of the Best Schools in America by a major news magazine. Even the Great Schools rating is an 8... compare that to other schools in the area! I love this school and what it has done for my kids. I'm confident that you will too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

School doesn't prepare students for college. Students are "not allowed to fail" so they're literally given multiple attempts to score higher on every test, in every subject. The overall GPA appears, therefore, to be impressively high,when, in fact, is nothing more than manually manipulated statistics. The problem is that students go on to college & struggle as tests are administrated ONCE. Students state they quickly discover their studyinggames skills are inadequate; they didn't have to study much in HS as they could retake tests up to 3wait times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

As a former student, I didn't excel at all in the "regular" high school, unless it was gym, music or a language class. My teachers didn't take the time to sit down and explain things to me. So I went to the Alternative High School upstairs. The teachers there are phenomenal. It is a very good school district, and my younger brother excelled. I just needed that extra bit of help and my teachers weren't willing to go that extra mile. I did enjoy my time at the school though. I was allowed to be myself, I wasn't forced to conform to anything. The only true issues with this school is, for all the security cameras they had, they didn't catch any of the people that were smoking pot on campus or dealing drugs. They caught all of the dress code violations though. There were too many fights to count and it seemed as if the security guards were just singling out specific people. If you didn't know your specific grades principal personally, you were all but screwed. All of that aside, I am glad I got my education at WRHS and I would do it all over again. Just wish the teachers there would take more time to work with individual students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2012

A very student centered school and, having had children go through the school at various times over the last 10 years, I can say that it hasn't always been that way. They've made great strides in the last several years to meet the needs of all students. I'm proud to send my children to WaRu and my kids feel like they are a part of something very special!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2009

As a former student who has gone on to college I thought that the high school was challenging at the time but in hindsight I can't see anything but how much it's failed the current students. I took ap and honors and graduated with a unweighted 3.7 and I spend all my time studying in college because i never had to study for high school and this habit killed me my first term and I have been recovering my gpa ever since. I think that the school needs to have higher standards expecially in its since department and math. The history department is the only thing I believe is worthy ( or classes I took).


Posted May 21, 2009

Washburn Rural High is an excellent school. They have had a new principal on board for the last few years that is outstanding, the classrooms are current with technology, and the students are most definitely encouraged to be unique individuals and strong in their academics. The number of offered clubs and extracurriculars is tremendous---I would recommend this school to all who are unsure about where to send their child for school in the Topeka area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

I absolutely love WRHS! The teachers are a great help whenever I need it. The people there are friendly and I have very many friends. The academics are great as well as extracurricular activities. Im very glad that I go to WRHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2008

WRHS is an excellent school as are all the schools leading to it. The vast majority of teachers, counselors, and administrators work for the best educations of the students. My kids have not always been happy with the grading scale (under 70% is no-credit) but that has only pushed them when they want to be lazy. Teachers have gone out of their way to help them understand and achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

Fantastic School! Great academic, athletic and activities programs. The staff is wonderful and the new Principal is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

My boyfriend was taken out of his home and sent to The Villages (which affiliates with JJA Custodial services) in Sept. '06. Accordingly, he was extremely upset about such change occurring but was able to adapt fantastically. He absolutely loved attending Washburn Rural High and often tells fond stories of the time he spent there. With Washburn's help, he was able to excel academically and athletically--He wrestled for the school too. I would like to sincerely thank all who helped him turn his life around; it was a godsend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

This is an excellent school for those who have great self confidence and are academicly strong. It is a tough school for the others. The staff is for the most part great and easy to work with. The school offers a wide variety of clubs and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

School hasn't even started and administrators seem unorganized and clueless to what is going on. Yet, they are the ones who want schedules finalized by the end of June. People should figure that students will be unorganized and clueless...but not the staff. Counselors don't help freshmen at all. They made it seem like getting your credits are a breeze, that's only if you take basic classes and get the bare minimum requirements to graduate. They don't tell you that in order to take AP classes you need to plan out your four years of high school as a freshman because each class builds off another. The choices in middle school were math classes and elective classes. Now we have hundreds of courses to choose from and little direction as what to take in order to be prepared as a junior or senior.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2007

This is a great school where students actually recieve a good education. They have an excellent selection of Advanced Placement and Honors courses and prepare students well for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

My son attended Washburn Rural untill the 11th grade when i unrolled him. Washburn overall is an excellent,up to date ,and top notch school. But when it comes to equality and fairness of the minority group. There is no caring the minority's grades in the school are despondent. There is one administrator in general who perturbed my son so much that he never wanted to come to school again. Once Washburn starts upholding Partiotism,egalitarianism,and reasonable treatment i might think about enrolling my son there again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

An alarming problem is the inflexibility and negativity of the school administration, especially the principal. He glares at the students and tells them to quiet down at sporting events, soccer, basketball and football included. They cannot express their creativity and spirit. The administrators are closed minded with closed body posturing and are in a constant accusatory mode with the students. Individualism is frowned upon. Kids are kept on a tight rein and not allowed to have any fun while learning and interacting with their peers, faculty and school administrators. There are video taping devices throughout the school. If the administration could catch the thieves or those smoking pot, or stop the fist fights in the halls, but rather, they make a scene about trivial events. Their own policies and disciplinary consequences aren t followed as written. They exercise poor judgment with their over the top lock-down on the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2006

My son has Asperger's Syndrom and was in Capital City until his Junior year when he came to Tallgrass. His GPA for the year was 3.714! These are the best rades he has had since grade school. They are patient and bend over backwards to help. My son will now be enrolled in a regular class in the regular High School setting. He hasn't been in a regular classroom since he was in the Fifth Grade. Thanyou Tallgrass for treating my son like a normal kid and helping to bring out the better side of him!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

We took our children out of Washburn Rural District because of the incredible 'bully problem' and also because the staff expects the children to be cookie cutters of one another. They do not encourage uniqueness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

my son went to Pauline central & South WRMS and now WRHS. The teachers always been such a great help to me and my Son I just want to thank all the teachers and principle for such a wonderful job. They really do care. Thanks again. Also thank you Marcia Sandel for keeping me up on my son reports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2004

Washburn Rural High School is absolutely amazing. It has a caring group of teachers who are willing to work with students of any ability. I was encouraged to become envolved, and I did because it was so simple. I knew that I was in a safe, enriching environment everyday. The facility is modern and up to date in technology. I would encourage everyone to send their children here.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

I have my daughter attends Tallgrass which is a special needs high school attached to the Washburn Rural high school. Overall the new principal is three steps above the one from before. The teachers are caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

406 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

396 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

389 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

418 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

422 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
African American87%
Hispanic98%
Multi-ethnic85%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities91%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students97%
African American100%
Hispanic95%
Multi-ethnic96%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities92%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students92%
African American85%
Hispanic90%
Multi-ethnic83%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities69%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students88%
African American61%
Hispanic87%
Multi-ethnic81%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities64%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 68%
Hispanic 9% 16%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Black 3% 7%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5900 SW 61st
Topeka, KS 66619
Phone: (785) 339-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT