Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wellsville Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

This school is awful. My child went to school here from Kindergarten to 5th grade. Out of those years, we had two teachers that were amazing, the rest of her teachers were terrible. The 3rd grade teacher bullied my child so badly, my child would be physically ill before school every day. I would not recommend anyone send their child to Wellsville. The children are allowed to bully other children while the teachers turn a blind eye. As long as you are a popular child, you can act however you wish without retribution. The education is pathetic and the communication between teacher and parent is substandard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

This school is all style, and no substance. Academics were significantly lower than other schools, extracurricular activities were limited, and discipline was from one extreme (harsh) to the other (non-existent). District centers around sports, so be prepared for your child to be ostracized if not conforming. Locals only preferred. Not recommended to attend school, work, or live in or near Wellsville. So close to Kansas City, yet so far away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

Both of my children attended Wellsville Elementary from K-5 and continue to be enrolled in Wellsville Schools. The teachers know and care about the kids and provide opportunities for children of all ability levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

We moved to Wellsville about 4 years ago. I agree that their early childhood program is wonderful! My youngest had severe speach problems, and has thrived in the program. He will start Kindergarden this year and is very well prepared. Overall the administration is great with the kids and care about their success. PTA is very weak, in the meetings I have attended they did not have a discussion on activities that they were pursuing, just telling us what they had decided during the executive session. It seemed very eliteist. and not open to suggestions. They do have some great activities for the kids, a dance, carnival and my favorite-the non-fundraiser-a walk a thon-I would much rather donate to good healthy things like walking than buy things that fall apart 2 weeks after purchase!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

I am very impressed with this school. Their Early Childhood program is wonderful! My oldest attended 3, 4 & 5th grade here, and my youngest is just starting preschool here. Teachers provide a lot of feedback and are willing to help your children achieve their best. PTA organization is very weak. But that is the parent's fault not the schools. PTA provides students with lot of functions, but parents don't participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

Well my children go here as did I. They do have science and social studies from 1st grade and up. My daughter in 1st grade is doing fractions in math, learning about the pyramids in social studies, and she is also starting volcanoes in science. I love the town of Wellsville and the city. It is a small school that provides a wonderful education. The teachers, principal, and so on are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

My children no longer go here and boy am I glad, I did not understand how far behind the school is until we moved to a different town. They currently don't offer Sciense or Social Studies for the students my son in 3rd grade was so far behind we had 2-3hours of homework everynight at our new schools to get caught up. The only + is the Principal is very friendly and some teachers(all the 3rd grade teachers) are very friendly. I would not suggest anyone to send their child here. Also lack of parents help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

61 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities72%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students85%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities72%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities89%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Hispanic 5% 17%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

218 Ash St
Wellsville, KS 66092
Phone: (785) 883-2996

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT