Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

College Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 386 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2013

We use to love this school until the new Principal came this year. She is not very nice at all. We have visited our daughter for lunch a couple of times and seen her in action first hand. One she always looks mad, two the only time the kids have time to talk and have free time, she was blowing her whistle and yelling at them. Then she was not very patient with a little girl who seemed to have autism. We have noticed a huge change in the staff while she has become the Principal. Sad she should be working in a prison not a elementary school. You can see it all over her face how she hates her job and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

We're a PhD college-professor and a therapist - as a pair of parents education is very important to us. In fact, we moved to College Hill before our youngest turned five-years-old so we could put her in this school. We weren't disapppointed her entire six years there. The teachers were excellent - the librarian is amazing and inspiring - and the music, art and intramurals kept my daughter excited to go to school.The yearly fall celebration (Harvest Hoedown, Boogie on the Blacktop) is extraordinary, we marvel at the smiles on the kids' and parents' faces during the event. The PTO is organized and involved. And my daughter was disappointed when our schedule changed and she had to cut back on her latchkey hours each week - it is so well run she looked forward to it. I read some of the earlier comments - I've never seen "gangs of third graders roaming" and my eldest was recently a 5th grader and there was never any "sexual" talk on the front patio. My youngest began kindergarten this year. So far, we are pleased as before. I think if you are an involved parent, willing to communicate and work WITH the school, you'll find this to be a perfect place for your child to begin their studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2012

We are grateful our daughter goes here. The teachers and staff have been wonderful to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

Just thought I would break the chain of 1 star reviews from ax-grinding parents and 5 star reviews by people trying to boost the resale value of their house. We had 2 kids in Minneha, moved and then had three kids go here before moving again. I can't think of any great programs generally available here. Or indeed, any special programs generally available at all. The academic programs weren't particularly challenging. The teachers, except for one kindergarten teacher, were either average or slightly below. I can't think of any leadership being exhibited by the principal. Just don't know what would qualify this school as a "5 star".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

My son went here from kindergarten all the way through 3rd grade (this year), and I thought it was a great school. Sounds like the bad reviews are from one bitter parent who had a problem with a teacher or other students, and blamed it on the whole school. You will run into bad apples no matter what school you are at. Our experience was positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

This is not a good school currently. I recommend parents send there kids elsewhere. Again, its hard not to notice that the good reviews here are for people who HAD their kids in College Hill. It may have been good then, but it isn't now. I have a son in first grade and a daughter in 3rd grade. Most schools, I presume, have a mix of good and bad teachers. What sets one school apart from another is the overall atmosphere of the school and whether its conducive to learning. And the atmosphere at CH isn't. They (thankfully) recently started to have the Wichita police patrol the grounds as they let the students out. And they needed to! And these are elementary school kids! My third grader complains of being groped and classrooms that teachers can't quiet down and get under control. My first grader's scores have gone DOWN over the course of the year after starting out high because of the time my wife spends with him in summer. The place will make your kids less smart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

I had 4 kids go here and we loved it. The teachers were caring and the kids were great. This school is proof that you do not have to go to a private school to get a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

all of the ratings higher than one star are from nearly 4 or more years ago (and these mostly deal with the gifted program or the kindergarten); this place must have gone seriously down hill. Maybe its the budget cuts? I don't know, but this place is not a good school for most kids now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

This school provides a shockingly bad environment. I can't speak to how the school was in the past, but currently the children are out of control and the teachers are clueless. There are literally "gangs" of 3rd graders who go around terrorizing other children. 5th graders hang out in front of the school after hours throwing around sexual innuendos that make this ex-marine blush. The administration simply shrugs all this off with cries of "kids will be kids" and "we're under-staffed, what can we do?". I'm from Houston, and have lived in many large cities and have never seen a school this bad. Do not let your child go. This place is in need of serious reform.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

College Hill was a wonderful school for my very gifted child. He was nurtured and challenged. We LOVED this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

If your child is gifted, don't send them to this school. They have no interest in making sure your child is challenged, even with high IQ and percentile scores. They would rather your child misbehave/be bored. You can request that your child is tested and they will start it. Then they will tell you there is not a need. Yeah, right! Child is causing problems because they are bored...not a need? There is a great sense of community and a great principal, but, that's about all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

College Hill is a wonderful school, it has the greatest gifted program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

My child is in kindergarten and I don't think I could have picked a better school. The staff is dedicated to educating our children to the best of their abilities. The atmosphere is just so welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2006

I think that C. Hill is one of usd's best schools. The teachers are great. The latchkey is great, and so is the parent involvement . My son really enjoys the art techer and p.e. So far we've really been satisfied with C. Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

62 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students83%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic90%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic90%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic100%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 68%
Black 16% 7%
Hispanic 11% 16%
Two or more races 9% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

211 North Clifton
Wichita, KS 67208
Website: Click here
Phone: (316) 973-9600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT