Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


College Hill Elementary School 2

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
We use to love this school until the new Principal came this year. She is not very nice at all. We have visited our daughter for lunch a couple of times and seen her in action first hand. One she always looks mad, two the only time the kids have time to talk and have free time, she was blowing her whistle and yelling at them. Then she was not very patient with a little girl who seemed to have autism. We have noticed a huge change in the staff while she has become the Principal. Sad she should be working in a prison not a elementary school. You can see it all over her face how she hates her job and it shows.

College Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
We're a PhD college-professor and a therapist - as a pair of parents education is very important to us. In fact, we moved to College Hill before our youngest turned five-years-old so we could put her in this school. We weren't disapppointed her entire six years there. The teachers were excellent - the librarian is amazing and inspiring - and the music, art and intramurals kept my daughter excited to go to school.The yearly fall celebration (Harvest Hoedown, Boogie on the Blacktop) is extraordinary, we marvel at the smiles on the kids' and parents' faces during the event. The PTO is organized and involved. And my daughter was disappointed when our schedule changed and she had to cut back on her latchkey hours each week - it is so well run she looked forward to it. I read some of the earlier comments - I've never seen "gangs of third graders roaming" and my eldest was recently a 5th grader and there was never any "sexual" talk on the front patio. My youngest began kindergarten this year. So far, we are pleased as before. I think if you are an involved parent, willing to communicate and work WITH the school, you'll find this to be a perfect place for your child to begin their studies.


College Hill Elementary School 4

Posted May 12, 2012
- a parent
We are grateful our daughter goes here. The teachers and staff have been wonderful to her.

College Hill Elementary School 2

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
Just thought I would break the chain of 1 star reviews from ax-grinding parents and 5 star reviews by people trying to boost the resale value of their house. We had 2 kids in Minneha, moved and then had three kids go here before moving again. I can't think of any great programs generally available here. Or indeed, any special programs generally available at all. The academic programs weren't particularly challenging. The teachers, except for one kindergarten teacher, were either average or slightly below. I can't think of any leadership being exhibited by the principal. Just don't know what would qualify this school as a "5 star".

College Hill Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2011
- a parent
My son went here from kindergarten all the way through 3rd grade (this year), and I thought it was a great school. Sounds like the bad reviews are from one bitter parent who had a problem with a teacher or other students, and blamed it on the whole school. You will run into bad apples no matter what school you are at. Our experience was positive.


College Hill Elementary School 1

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
This is not a good school currently. I recommend parents send there kids elsewhere. Again, its hard not to notice that the good reviews here are for people who HAD their kids in College Hill. It may have been good then, but it isn't now. I have a son in first grade and a daughter in 3rd grade. Most schools, I presume, have a mix of good and bad teachers. What sets one school apart from another is the overall atmosphere of the school and whether its conducive to learning. And the atmosphere at CH isn't. They (thankfully) recently started to have the Wichita police patrol the grounds as they let the students out. And they needed to! And these are elementary school kids! My third grader complains of being groped and classrooms that teachers can't quiet down and get under control. My first grader's scores have gone DOWN over the course of the year after starting out high because of the time my wife spends with him in summer. The place will make your kids less smart.

College Hill Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2011
- a parent
I had 4 kids go here and we loved it. The teachers were caring and the kids were great. This school is proof that you do not have to go to a private school to get a good education.

College Hill Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
all of the ratings higher than one star are from nearly 4 or more years ago (and these mostly deal with the gifted program or the kindergarten); this place must have gone seriously down hill. Maybe its the budget cuts? I don't know, but this place is not a good school for most kids now.


College Hill Elementary School 1

Posted April 11, 2011
- a parent
This school provides a shockingly bad environment. I can't speak to how the school was in the past, but currently the children are out of control and the teachers are clueless. There are literally "gangs" of 3rd graders who go around terrorizing other children. 5th graders hang out in front of the school after hours throwing around sexual innuendos that make this ex-marine blush. The administration simply shrugs all this off with cries of "kids will be kids" and "we're under-staffed, what can we do?". I'm from Houston, and have lived in many large cities and have never seen a school this bad. Do not let your child go. This place is in need of serious reform.

College Hill Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 08, 2010
- a parent
College Hill was a wonderful school for my very gifted child. He was nurtured and challenged. We LOVED this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

College Hill Elementary School
211 North Clifton, Wichita, KS  67208
(316) 973-9600
Last modified College Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
College Hill Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top