Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 20, 2016
- a community member
The amount of homework varies a lot by teacher. Most teachers in the higher grades give about 60 min of homework a week but there are a outliers in either direction.

Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are great and the parent involvement at this school is unbelievable. The parents are there to assist in the classroom, with special projects and support activities. All of this available support allows the teachers to really think outside the box in their teaching methods. Each semester, every grade has an assigned country to study for their magnet focus. The kids learn about the assigned country, sometimes have guests with special knowledge of the country, taste foods from the country and finally present what they have learned in a presentation to the school and the parents. (The last presentation I attended was multi-media and even included song and dance.) My second and third of four children are at Hyde now and we are looking forward to the fourth starting there in another year.


Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2011
- a parent
Hyde Elementary deserves a score of 10. Ten. The KSA test scores cited don't really say anything at all, and they are four years out our date! Here is data that speaks for itself: Out of 57 fifth graders in the 2010-2011 school year at Hyde, 19 were accepted into the Pre-International Baccalaureate Program at Hyde. Quite simply, Hyde is the best elementary, public or private, in Wichita.

Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2009
- a parent
my child has recently attended at hyde and i am thoroughly pleased at the level of education they have received. the faculty is friendly, and professional. as the facility is clean well lit and has nice open halls. the staffs attention to detail in broadening the perspective of cultures in the eyes of children. understanding is very important in life and understanding others and their cultures helps to bridge the future to our kids.

Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
We have lived in Wichita for 3 years, and our 2 kids currently attend Hyde in 3rd grade and kindergarten. We are very happy with the school, the teachers, and the new principal. Mrs. Eubank added an extra recess time, to which the kids have responded very well. Our teachers are dedicated and energetic, including the music teacher and librarian. And, we feel we can discuss any issues regarding behavior or performance with teachers, and receive a respectful, concerned response. Parental involvement is fabulous. The only negative about the school is the large kindergarten classes (20+), because of limited building space. We hope the passage of the new bond issue will alleviate this in the years to come, and give all the students a little elbow room. Still, it's understandable. Everyone wants to go to Hyde!


Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 06, 2008
- a teacher
The teachers, parents, and students at Hyde work very well together to ensure that student achievement is our number one priority. Exposure to different cultures, countries, and ways to communicate are what we focus on and succeed at doing. Hyde is a great place to work and I have personally enjoyed my students at Hyde for the last six years!

Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
Both of my children went to Hyde and received a wonderful education. Their classrooms were always well-behaved. They both had top-notch teachers who cared about them and communicated with me frequently. Parents are encouraged to become involved and many teachers have parents in their classrooms working with children.

Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School 3

Posted July 15, 2006
- a parent
The test scores for Hyde are wonderful, extracurricular activities are plentiful and the parents are very involved. The attitude towards children and how they should behave, however, could use some improvement. Our son was treated as the bad kid in class and singled out on many occassions for simply trying to be involved in the class discussion. He was bullied and then was accused of bullying. The teachers here seem to only be concerened about the schools test scores and the appearance of Hyde. The International Studies concentration is very nice, each class studies a different continent every year and the report on it. While we where there we didn't see evidence of the Communication study. In fact, the communication was poor, between the students, parents and teachers. Visit this school before you send your child.


Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2004
- a parent
Hyde is the epitome of a wonderful school environment. We have caring teachers, effective discipline, and the highest learning standards. Unique challenges are addressed and met and the parents are fully involved, present and most welcome.

Nearby schools

Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School
210 North Oliver, Wichita, KS  67208
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (316) 973-0650
Last modified Hyde International Studies and Communications Magnet Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top