Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Minneha Core Knowledge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 738 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

I think Minneha is good school. I wouldn''t say great though. As for the Pilars if Islam, they also teach other religions as well. My children attend Bible Club on a regular basis. My 2 children attend this school and I feel it has really benefited them well. Most of the teachers we have had are wonderful with the kids and the kids love them! compared to other public schools in Wichita, it's one of the better options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

Minneha is a wonderful school. The core knowledge curriculum includes history, geography, and science. Many elementary schools do not cover these subjects everyday. The curriculum describes the major religions of the world in a historical context. It does NOT prescribe to any one religion. Nor does it cover theology. Students of different cultures and backgrounds attend. All are respected. I would be proud and happy for my child to go to a school like Minneha.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2013

i am very asamed to know that a school would put islam ahead of the lord god. please apologize to the students and america.


Posted August 17, 2013

5 pillars of islam being taught at the school that does not allow Christian prayer.. I would rate it a zero if I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

This is NOT a good school if they have a 5 Pillars of Islam giant poster as you enter the facility. This is in violation of the establishment clause of the Constitution and a violation of the civil rights of children of all other religions or those that don't practice any religious beliefs,


Posted December 7, 2009

This is an amazing school! I've been in a lot of the public schools here and the principal and staff are the best I've ever seen. Almost all of the teachers really love students and care about them. One of the great things about this school is the Core Knowledge curriculum. They teach not only math and reading, but, history, science, geography and civics. My child is also in the gifted program and you couldn't find a better one in this district. This school is like private school only it is public. Another good thing about this school is that they don't follow No Child Left Behind, so, your child doesn't have to wait for others to catch up. I cannot say enough good things about this school. Every parent I've talked with loves Minneha. My child cannot wait to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

I am not pleased with this school - neither with the teachers nor the principal. My daughter's teacher doesn't prepare lesson plans in advance and, consequently, I can't follow what he's doing from one week to the next. Avoid this school at all costs. It lives up to its rating as a 2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

This was a very good school for me. Some teachers did disappoint me with their bad disipline but I was still pleased. One particular teacher I like was Mrs. Ney she was the best teacher I could have wished for and she taught me how to read and that's how I became the book worm I am now. thank you Mrs.Ney
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

89 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African American61%
Hispanic87%
Multi-ethnic93%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English87%

Reading

All Students85%
African American75%
Hispanic80%
Multi-ethnic87%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander92%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
African American78%
Hispanic88%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English86%

Reading

All Students88%
African American78%
Hispanic94%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities60%
Proficient in English100%

Science

All Students92%
African American86%
Hispanic94%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
African American76%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White97%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students84%
African American85%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander91%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 30% 7%
White 29% 67%
Hispanic 15% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 3%
Two or more races 10% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 North Webb Rd
Wichita, KS 67206
Website: Click here
Phone: (316) 973-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Independent School
Wichita, KS






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT