Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 624 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2013

Mayberry has extreamly effective teachers that work hard for student to be sucessfull. I like this a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2012

Love the school, staff they listen to concerns and solve them the kids matter to all the staff great job staff of Mayberry thanks for all you do
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

My name is Lindi S. I was a Mayberry Panther. After going to the school for all three years.I am very happy I was sent to the school. They have excellent teachers and wonderful students. My test scores have improven greatly. The principal could do a better job of who he picks as teachers. Over all i give the credit to the teachers and staff for makeing the school such a great iniornment for the students. If i were a parent i woud gladley send my child to this wonderful Magnet School. Again i am very proud of being a Mayberry Middle Cultural/Fine Arts Magnet 'Graduate'!


Posted July 11, 2009

This school is excellent. My daughter was an awful student and after her first year in Mayberry she was an average. I am very proud of sending her there. They give you a high quality protection and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Three years ago I would have highly recommended Mayberry. Then they sent the principal Mr. Davis to a different school and everything went downhill. The new principal is terrible and the school has failed my son in so many areas that I have nothing but a bad taste in my mouth now for this school. My son and I are so glad he is out of there now. Of course I will have to get him tutoring over the summer to make up for what he did not learn this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

This school is absolutly horrid! I can't beleive how many fights and drug situations there are! Not to mention at least five pregnant students a year! Do not send your child here. My brianna, a perfectly normal child had to have therapy after going there. Poor girl shudders at the very sight of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

the students are so open with everything and dont judge as much as other schools
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2007

Both of my children attended and loved the three years they spent at Mayberry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

Last year I loved how much my daughter enjoyed Mayberry. It was a blessing that she looked forward to school. For some reason this year it seems like a lot of the kids are bored. It just seemed so lively last year! What's the problem. I think teachers need to encourage kids to back off each other too. There's so many girls especially in 7th grade w/ nasty attitudes and all they get is a slap on the wrist. My daughter has already had a couple girls try to start a fight w/ her at school. When she tried to report them no one did anything about it!! I was a bit disappointed. She knows how to defend herself.. since I taught her. But it should never have to amount to this. Teach kids how to be respectful.. obvisiouly their parents don't know how!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

I think mayberry is the best school in the district. i like it there because it is fun, great teachers, the only class hard to get in to is gym cause people love gym. I'm in cheerleading at mayberry and i love it. Everyone who tried out made it. Mayberry is a wonderfull choice for any student.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

210 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

210 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
70%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

209 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2012.

208 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

185 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

182 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
71%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 78% in 2012.

183 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2009.

189 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
African American56%
Hispanic56%
Multi-ethnic56%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities42%
Proficient in English37%

Reading

All Students76%
African American72%
Hispanic68%
Multi-ethnic84%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities61%
Proficient in English50%

U.S. History and Government

All Students75%
African American39%
Hispanic78%
Multi-ethnic84%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities65%
Proficient in English62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
African American46%
Hispanic33%
Multi-ethnic72%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities30%
Proficient in English43%

Reading

All Students71%
African American71%
Hispanic52%
Multi-ethnic82%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities55%
Proficient in English46%

Science

All Students61%
African American58%
Hispanic38%
Multi-ethnic82%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities29%
Proficient in English25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
African American63%
Hispanic75%
Multi-ethnic82%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English57%

Reading

All Students78%
African American53%
Hispanic74%
Multi-ethnic77%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English64%

U.S. History and Government

All Students57%
African American33%
Hispanic41%
Multi-ethnic73%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 68%
Hispanic 28% 16%
Two or more races 12% 4%
Black 10% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
Asian 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

207 South Sheridan
Wichita, KS 67213
Website: Click here
Phone: (316) 973-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Riverside Academy
Wichita, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT