Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilbur Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, September 21, 2014

This will be our last year at Wilbur. Both of my children have attended this school and I have really no complaints. No school is perfect but this one has been great! My children maintained good grades, scored well on tests and enjoyed the extra curricular activities. Staff is highly involved with the students. Most of them communicate well with parents. They do not tolerate bullying and abide by the D/F list policy on after school activities. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2014

I was once in this so called school. I can't believe how awful the teachers are. Some teachers know how to learn and have fun but in my grade(which was 7th) there was only one. Besides the teachers the kids are horrible. The kids don't ever do there work and when they do they complain about it and want to watch a movie instead. They bring out there phones in class and take pictures, even when they banned pictures from being taken at the school, also the teachers don't do anything about it! Not even bullying. The school could care less if you were dealing with bullies or issues. All they want is your money. And that's it. I'm glad I moved away from that school. I'm glad I'm away from Kansas. I would NOT recommend this school.


Posted August 31, 2013

The state tests say it all. From grade 6 to grade 8 they scores continue to decline. There are far too many students to teachers and I'm not at all impressed with this school. They randomly select student schedules putting kids with C's and D's in Honors classes and then don't bother to help them with tutors or getting any extra help. I'm sorry but if I had it to do all over again would have never put my kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

i am a 7th grader here at wilbur and my life has never been better i love being at wilbur my educating has improved and their zero tolerance of bullying has helped me so much i will always recommend this school and there new principal is a really great guy and i hope this review helps my school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2009

As a parent, I am impressed with Wilbur. Most of the teachers are caring and make the child's learning a top priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

I am an 8th grade student at Wilbur. I believe that the students know themselves, their parents, their peers, their teachers, and their administrators better than anyone else because they see all of them everyday.I think that Wilbur is an excellent school with great values, great kids, and great teachers. We definetly have our flaws, but they are outweighed by the great people, great values, and amazing experiences here at Wilbur Middle School. My mother, my brother, and my sister all attended Wilbur and I plan on sending my children to Wilbur.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

I have had 2 children in Wilbur and both have had excellent experiences. I have another coming up next year and he can't wait to go. We had a problem one or two times with bullying but they were dealt with in a quick mannner. I am a member of the PTA for 3 years and have volunteered for many events including the book fair. The parent assist is a great way to keep on track with your kids grades and it was just implemented in the past year and a half.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2008

I will send all my children there because the place has a great academic awards there may be zero tolerence there but would you want your kid to go to hadley for instance? When at wilbur there are barely any fights? Oh yeah by the way they have gotton a new pricipul and she is nicer than heck!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2007

The administration at this school failed numerous times to provide a safe learning environment for my children. The principle neglected to follow a zero tolerance for violence and bullies. I can only hope the emotional damage and scars from this school will fade. I would never recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

I am very disappointed in the administration of this school. They are too focused on identifying faults in the students rather than educating them. While I encourage self-expression and individualism in my children, the school discourages and punishes these traits as being 'disruptive to the learning environment.' They single out students who do not fit in with the majority and force them to coalesce. The policies of this school do not reflect my values as a parent at all, and I will not be sending my children here any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2004

The principal of this school is very strict, and can not relate to students. The administration does not help students to enjoy school. Many teachers have left the school due to the poor administration. Wilbur Middle School is not a school I will send my kids to anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

334 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

333 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
81%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

333 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2012.

321 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

327 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

323 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

313 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

312 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
82%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 78% in 2012.

312 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2009.

296 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
African American53%
Hispanic66%
Multi-ethnic76%
American Indian79%
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities43%
Proficient in English85%

Reading

All Students89%
African American68%
Hispanic84%
Multi-ethnic90%
American Indian100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities61%
Proficient in English92%

U.S. History and Government

All Students69%
African American38%
Hispanic60%
Multi-ethnic71%
American Indian71%
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities39%
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
African American48%
Hispanic82%
Multi-ethnic78%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities44%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students84%
African American59%
Hispanic86%
Multi-ethnic85%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities51%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students75%
African American36%
Hispanic77%
Multi-ethnic78%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities40%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
African American41%
Hispanic67%
Multi-ethnic76%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities41%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students80%
African American52%
Hispanic69%
Multi-ethnic76%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities45%
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students62%
African American36%
Hispanic42%
Multi-ethnic56%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities34%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 67%
Hispanic 16% 17%
Two or more races 11% 4%
Black 10% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

340 North Tyler Rd
Wichita, KS 67212
Website: Click here
Phone: (316) 973-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Levy Sp Ed Center
Wichita, KS







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT