Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wilbur Middle School 1

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Bullying is RAMPANT in this school and the teachers and administration pretend to do something about it, when in actuality, NOTHING IS DONE. Oh...they may talk to the bullies...but that is it. If your child is having a difficult time learning a subject, the teachers don't take the time to help them out. I emailed teachers asking if they could help my son since I had no idea how to do the work. They said they would but never did. My son had his IQ tested and it is 127. For some reason his report card was all F's and 1 D. The reasoning is because the teachers all have one teaching style and don't take into account that all students learn in a different way. If your child doesn't fit in to their method of teaching, they label your child as non-compliant with school work. Teachers also like to yell things at the kids like "SHUT UP". This is totally unprofessional. When I emailed a teacher about it, she had my son removed from her class. I DO NOT recommend sending your child to this school if you want him/her to succeed.

Wilbur Middle School 3

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
This school has some good teachers, and some not so good. As with any school, parents have to be involved in their child's academic and social lives. This school does have lots of cliques, and bullying is present, but not necessarily prevalent. However, there are some groups that prey on the timid. Communication with your child and with your child's teachers on a regular basis is always recommended. Let the teacher's know you are invested in your child's education. If you do not have an open line of communication with them, talk to the administration.


Wilbur Middle School 1

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
The worst experience of my childs and my life. Do not recommend this school. If your child is there on a special transfer or you just moved into the neighborhood. You will not fit in. In fact, your child will have a huge Red Target on his back by students and staff. I had to get my child out of there before she fell any further into a depression. BEWARE!

Wilbur Middle School 4

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
This will be our last year at Wilbur. Both of my children have attended this school and I have really no complaints. No school is perfect but this one has been great! My children maintained good grades, scored well on tests and enjoyed the extra curricular activities. Staff is highly involved with the students. Most of them communicate well with parents. They do not tolerate bullying and abide by the D/F list policy on after school activities. I would recommend this school.

Wilbur Middle School 1

Posted July 21, 2014
- a community member
I was once in this so called school. I can't believe how awful the teachers are. Some teachers know how to learn and have fun but in my grade(which was 7th) there was only one. Besides the teachers the kids are horrible. The kids don't ever do there work and when they do they complain about it and want to watch a movie instead. They bring out there phones in class and take pictures, even when they banned pictures from being taken at the school, also the teachers don't do anything about it! Not even bullying. The school could care less if you were dealing with bullies or issues. All they want is your money. And that's it. I'm glad I moved away from that school. I'm glad I'm away from Kansas. I would NOT recommend this school.


Wilbur Middle School 2

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
The state tests say it all. From grade 6 to grade 8 they scores continue to decline. There are far too many students to teachers and I'm not at all impressed with this school. They randomly select student schedules putting kids with C's and D's in Honors classes and then don't bother to help them with tutors or getting any extra help. I'm sorry but if I had it to do all over again would have never put my kids here.

Wilbur Middle School 5

Posted December 22, 2009
- a student
i am a 7th grader here at wilbur and my life has never been better i love being at wilbur my educating has improved and their zero tolerance of bullying has helped me so much i will always recommend this school and there new principal is a really great guy and i hope this review helps my school

Wilbur Middle School 5

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
As a parent, I am impressed with Wilbur. Most of the teachers are caring and make the child's learning a top priority.


Wilbur Middle School 5

Posted August 01, 2009
- a student
I am an 8th grade student at Wilbur. I believe that the students know themselves, their parents, their peers, their teachers, and their administrators better than anyone else because they see all of them everyday.I think that Wilbur is an excellent school with great values, great kids, and great teachers. We definetly have our flaws, but they are outweighed by the great people, great values, and amazing experiences here at Wilbur Middle School. My mother, my brother, and my sister all attended Wilbur and I plan on sending my children to Wilbur.

Wilbur Middle School 5

Posted January 10, 2009
- a parent
I have had 2 children in Wilbur and both have had excellent experiences. I have another coming up next year and he can't wait to go. We had a problem one or two times with bullying but they were dealt with in a quick mannner. I am a member of the PTA for 3 years and have volunteered for many events including the book fair. The parent assist is a great way to keep on track with your kids grades and it was just implemented in the past year and a half.

Nearby schools

Wilbur Middle School
340 North Tyler Rd, Wichita, KS  67212
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (316) 973-1100
Last modified Wilbur Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top