Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwest High School

Public | 9-12 | 1496 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2012

i attended Northwest from freshman to beginning of my junior year. i didnt like it and was harassed, i got into a few fights due to the constant harassment and was ALWAYS the only one taken to JIAC and suspended from school in all 3 cases, even though i didn't start any of the altercations. i then began feeling harassed by the WPD officer for our school my sophomore year, i transfered to another school and have progressed amazingly in my credits and expect to graduate a year early. i would not recommend attending Northwest High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2010

As a former student (several moons ago) of this school, I can say that the school's challenging nature is its best characteristic. Honestly, several of the classes I took my junior and senior years were more difficult than the equivalent college classes. Such classes prepared me well for the rigors of collegiate academics. The teachers all want the students to achieve their highest potential, and one teacher even helped me to get my first job in my career field of choice. Admittedly, if your child is not self-motivated or only views school as a nuisance, they will probably have some trouble. It took me a few semesters to get adjusted to the rigors of Northwest after transferring from Wichita South (where I was far, far behind). If your student is motivated to learn, this is the perfect school for them!


Posted July 20, 2007

As a former student of Northwest I will never allow my children to attend this school. I transferred to another high school my Junior year and was shocked as to how much I did not know. Care and concern for the children in the school is a last priority for the adults that are supposed to 'in charge'. The rules that govern the students are made simply for control and not for the greater good. The long lasting thing that I learned from my time at Northwest will always be Bullies always win.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

This is definately one of the best highschools in Wichita. It has a great selection of extracurricular activities from sports to music and theatre. There are lots of AP classes available and I seriously loved most of my teachers. I was most impressed with the counselors. They really helped me find scholarships and without the senior counselor I might not have picked the right college. I also was able to get to know the principal and many other staff personally. I definately recommend this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 2, 2005

As the parent of a former student from Northwest High School, I rank Northwest as one of the best high schools that USD 259 has to offer. It has a variety of extra-curricular activites that each and every student may participate in, if they have the desire. The Northwest faculty expects each student to be committed to their education in order to be prepared for adult life after high school. In my opinion it is the parents responsibility to ensure that THEIR student is on task. I encourage each parent who states something negative about any public school in Wichita, to spend a day at school shadowing an administrator or a teacher. It will open up their eyes to see the challenges that school officials face on a daily basis. I have 13 years of volunteer service. Parents get involved! It makes a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2004

The teachers, specifically the Language Arts teachers, do not know how to work with students of other races or those who are not self-motivated or highly skilled. Unless your students are completely motivated and gifted, they will not find success at Northwest. The athletic teams and coaches are great, however keep your kids out of the cheer program. Sometimes this school does a few things right, but for the most part the teaching is sub-par, and favoritism is rampant. The administration are not leaders, they are out to protect teachers and coaches... not students. I would highly suggest keeping your kids out of the Wichita Public Schools, particularly Northwest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

Great School! Some teachers I fear, may need a brush up course on working with students of different race/religions. Overall the school has allot of positve points. Sports programs are the best in my opinion compared to the other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2004

Great school for a chalenge to our kids, many do not achieve high grades because this school is a great challenge.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

366 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

352 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

356 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

382 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

395 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
African American60%
Hispanic83%
Multi-ethnic79%
American Indian100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities60%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African American73%
Hispanic90%
Multi-ethnic86%
American Indian100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities82%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students81%
African American52%
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnic71%
American Indian100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities56%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students76%
African American54%
Hispanic74%
Multi-ethnic82%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander90%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities48%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 68%
Hispanic 15% 16%
Black 13% 7%
Two or more races 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1220 North Tyler Rd
Wichita, KS 67212
Website: Click here
Phone: (316) 973-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Riverside Academy
Wichita, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT