Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
903 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School 5

Posted January 04, 2016
- a student
Kapaun Mt. Carmel (KMC) is an excellent school. Looking back, I'm glad my parents chose to send me there. I was not in the Cum Laude Program, yet I received a stellar academic education that earned me a full-tuition college scholarship. I graduated very well-prepared for higher education; my undergraduate and graduate work seemed easy compared to some of the class projects I completed at KMC. I appreciate the fact that the school allowed for the open discussion and practice of Catholicism while also encouraging the discussion and study of other religions. The school spirit, when I attended, was great. Teachers, coaches and friends were all very supportive. Students who choose to be involved in events and activities will naturally have a better high school experience. I think it's interesting to note that (so far) the STUDENTS who've given reviews on here have all rated their school experience with five stars. Overall, KMC gave me an education that not only prepared my friends and I for successful careers but also made us better, well-rounded people.

Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School 2

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
It is better than Public schools but, has its own issues. Has just started random drug testing. Although many parents against it too bad. If your child does not submit to hair follicle testing they are not allowed to attend. If a student arrives with shaved head. A positive drug test will be entered on student record. Principal promoting random drug testing will ensure a drug free environment for your child. Which is hardly true. The so called exceptional education we have yet to see. They are lacking in Sciences and History. Teachers have to push Religion more than the subject or they will be looking for a new job. My child jokes every class is "Honors Religion". My child is taking all Honors classes and still bored to death. We are unsure how his "college prep" education will fair...


Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School 5

Posted July 20, 2014
- a community member
Great CATHOLIC school where the faith is professed. High levels of academic teaching as well ample extra-cirricular activities. Tuition-free for members of the Catholic Church.

Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School 2

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
This high school is fair for a private religious (Catholic) school. One thing that is disappointing is the school spirit - it's not that great. Go to a basketball game and you will see what I'm talking about. The school president stands facing the students most of the game and as a result, the students remain largely subdued. It's kind of weird! They put students on different tracks when they start as 8th graders. If your kid is above average the teaching staff will show great interest, if not, be warned, your kid will suffer and they won't hesitate to kick him/her out without empathy for your familiy's personal situation. Team or group learning is lacking. Come to think of It, it does seem, as one other writer noted on this forum that the school works hard at protecting the it's reputation over ensuring that all kids have a chance to learn. If you are willing to pay a little more, send your kid to the Wichita Independent School or Collegiant. They both have great reputations as private college prep schools. It's our experience that they offer a much more nurturing learning environment. Just make a visit and you will readily see.

Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School 5

Posted July 08, 2012
- a student
If a student gets involved and interacts with the teachers they can get the very best education and high school experience. The teachers give their attention in time to the students who care about their education. If a student engages their teachers in thoughtful questions and challenges themselves, the teachers will do so in return. You get what you put in to it. Kapaun can really prepare you for everything college will through at you.


Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School 1

Posted April 21, 2012
- a parent
This school does not help the student body what-so-ever. They think that schools image is more important the the academics that they teach. If you want your kid to get a good education and more of a personable experience, not just put on a track and sent through the system, then send your kid somewhere else. They label each student and place them on a "track" where when you first enter the schools based on your child's test scores, they predetermine whether your kid will be successful or not. If your kid is chosen to be successful, they will be in favor of and helped tremendously more than any other student. If your kid is not, they will be neglected and treated as with no purpose but to get the parent's money. If you want your kid to go through school with out the administration putting labels on your kids, send them somewhere else. This school is highly over rated. Don't believe me? Go sit in on some classes and you will see exactly what I am talking about.

Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School 5

Posted May 15, 2010
- a student
Kapaun offers a superior education to all of its students. I think all Crusaders are likely to have an advantage when they enter college, regardless of whether or not they followed the Cum Laude curriculum. Honors classes are open to everyone; and, they just move at a more rapid pace than general courses. What Kapaun Mt. Carmel teaches all of its students is a work ethic and a behavior that they will use to for the rest of their lives. Kapaun raises the bar and gives all students the tools they need to be successful.

Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School 5

Posted April 09, 2010
- a student
Kapaun is one of the best schools in wichita. They give students every chance to participate in after school activites. Plus they teacher quality in amazing. Everyone i know who took advantage what was offered became very successful.


Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School 5

Posted March 06, 2010
- a student
Firstly, young adults in here turn out great regardless of their classes. This is because they will only survive if some effort is put forth and conduct is alright. Cum (NOT kum) Laude is a great opportunity for hard working students to be recognized by higher education.

Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School 3

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great... If your kid is in kum laude(honors). I had three kids attend. Two in kum laude and one not. The two in honors whent through college without any trouble. The one that wasnt had a 4.0 In non honors. When he got to college he was so incredibly unprepared that he almost flunked out his freshman year. Overall the honors program is great, the non honors not so great.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School
8506 East Central Avenue, Wichita, KS  67206
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (316) 634-0315
Last modified Kapaun Mt Carmel Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top