Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Francis of Assisi School

Private | PK-8 | 779 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wichita

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $122,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

This school is full of overbearing parents that think they run the place. In general, the children are not friendly to outsiders and neither is the staff. We picked another school for my son, and I'm glad we did. The environment here is so unfriendly. People are snotty and rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

I work in the early childhood community and I have seen a lot of classrooms and teaching styles. I observed the pre-k classroom and I was so impressed! I have never before seen a teacher (and assistant teacher) show such kindness, respect, and love for the children in their class as I did at St. Francis of Assisi. That pre-k teacher is giving those children a priceless experience to start them off on the best foot for school, and life! Parents should feel absolutely blessed to have such a woman teaching your children.


Posted October 9, 2012

This is a very good school! The teachers care about the individual spirituality of the students, and make an effort to reach them academically and religiously. The only negative thing I have to say is that they do not have a Gifted&Talented program, which was disappointing. At the time I attended the school, it was a very good one (2007-2010). And the tuition! They set up a tithing program that is very affordable, even for families with many children like my own. It was the only reason I was able to attend a Catholic school. Two thumbs up!


Posted August 14, 2012

I have 3 children that have either gone through this wonderful school or are there now and can't think of a better school to prepare them for secondary education. The principal and staff treat others with respect and it's a spiritual, structured learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

Excellent school that has prepared all five of my children for high school and beyond. Great leadership, great teachers, great staff and the support of caring, involved parents are what sets this school apart. It also has large, well-maintained facilities, sports programs and other extracurricular activities such as chess and scouts. Preschool through eighth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

Kindergarten teachers are less than helpful with everyday knowledge for kids. I have been by far responsible for teaching my daughter the basics of ABC's, reading and math. This is expected of parents to be taken care of at home for the most part, I'm not sure what teachers are actually teaching in the classroom. I will be pulling my child from this school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2003

We moved away to a much larger city and we very much miss the quality of this school. Tough school that will challenge the best students. However, this school is not for the average or below average student. Parent involvement makes this an outstanding educational instition.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 74%
Hispanic 10% 14%
Asian 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Wichita
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

853 N Socora St
Wichita, KS 67212
Phone: (316) 722-5171

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT