Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wichita Collegiate School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Wichita

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $217,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, September 14, 2014

if i could rate this school more than its maximum 5 stars I would probably rate it 100, this school is amazing I moved my kids down to southlake texas, a small community just like Wichita my kids went to Carroll a school that was ranked above and beyond but the only thing I noticed were my kids finishing their homework within an hour and not even being pushed while completing it. The teachers had 30 kids in each class which did not give my kid the amount of attention needed. The point is Carroll does not give your child the full access of a good school, but i can assure you collegiate does the teachers have 12 - 15 kids in a classroom and a total of no more than 70 kids in a grade collegiate gives your child every reason to get into the school of their dreams but only if your child is up for the commitment. After realizing that its time to make a sacrifice and move my kids back to where they belong we tried our best went back to collegiate enrolled our kids in collegiate again and now my kids are both sergeants living happily in California. both my sons have 2 boys and the other with 1 boy and 1 girl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2014

Collegiate has exceeded my extremely high expectations. My child has attended for 4 years now and I have never had a concern or challenge. Most of my family has attended Collegiate which opened doors for very selective internships and scholarships to them by attending this school. I would NEVER send my child to any other school in this city or suburb and I have the ability to do so but I choose Collegiate. **This site will only be credible if guests write about THEIR experiences with THEIR school. Speculating about other schools and Collegiate accusing them of having an "elitist agenda" is the craziest assumption and accusation and could only be made by a person who could not afford the tuition. Comparing Collegiate to public school is absurd and educated. I receive newsletters every year of colleges the Senior class will be attending...I'm sorry but you can't suggest that all Andover graduates will attend Harvard, Columbia, Stanford, Princeton, etc...BUT they do at Collegiate EVERY year!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

Collegiate is a wonderful school for many reasons. It is a great size, a wide variety of activities are offered, there is a pervasive positive energy, and the staff is very professional. I noticed right away that the staff is positive, highly committed, forward looking, responsive, and sincerely interested in providing the best education possible for your child. People I know who have not liked Collegiate, have been those who think their children are more special than everyone else :-) Collegiate administration does not pander to this attitude. They will indeed do what they think is best for your child. They respond professionally to special requests, but will not always cater to parents. We started at Collegiate for their Montessori preschool program with the intent to go to public elementary school. But we've had such a positive experience, we have been at WCS for 7 years. We have found Collegiate to be a fantastic community of diverse people. The teachers get to know your child personally and are so committed to their role. They really work to provide a wide variety of opportunities for each and every child to shine. It has been wonderful for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2013

If you need gifted services for your child or have a high functioning child, do not sent them to Collegiate. They do not offer any services and will offer to have your child tutor other kids when they have finished their work. Found more suitable options without the high cost elsewhere.


Posted August 7, 2012

When we moved to Wichita, we researched all of the local schooling options available in the area. Collegiate was by far the best option and the only one we found that met or exceeded some of the better schools back East. Very high standards in all aspects of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

Test scores are lower than at Andover or other good public schools, like Bostic, in the area. High rate of students who need help from the Fundamental Learning Center. Parent involvement and communication is discouraged. Leadership is questionable, especially with the new Middle School head, who lets several teachers do whatever they want, regardless of how it affects the students. Look carefully at the college placement, and you will see that students from East and Andover go to better schools, and their parents didn't pay over 50k for HS to get them there. Collegiate is all about churning out the next group of the Wichita Elite, not about education. There is a lot of badmouthing of other schools that goes on among parents and teachers at Collegiate, but if you do your homework, you'll find the school is on par, or even slightly below the public school eduction in populations of similar economics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

The school does an excellent job of preparing students for college. The academics are rigorous, the class sizes are small, and the teachers are very attentive. I would not hesitate to recommend the school to others.


Posted January 20, 2011

The very best education in the Wichita area hands down! Boosts a very high rate of students that go on to get a 4 year college degree! My son is an example of this. He now has his Masters Degree and a successful career. I can not say enough positive about this school! You will not regret this decision! INCREDIBLE school and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

We love Collegiate for so many reasons. Our children have been taught to do their best, to love learning, to think independently and to see everyone as an equal. The teachers, staff, students and other parents have been so wonderful to get to know. At WCS our family has made lifelong friends and great memories. Having my children 'grow up' at Collegiate School has been an amazing experience, one that I would choose again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

Wichita Collegiate has so many after school opportunities you're sure to find a class you'll like. Every teacher cares to your child to help them become the best they can be.


Posted January 11, 2010

All three of my chidren have graduated from Wichita Collegiate School. Each was unique. Collegiate was able to cater to each of their needs and allowed to excel to their fullest potential. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

You can look but will never find better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Wichita Collegiate School provides each child an opportunity to develop and blossom culturally and intellectually by way of excellent teachers, dedicated administrative support, and an enriching environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We looked at every private school in the area and Wichita Collegiate stands far and above all the rest. The dedication of the teachers and staff is incredible. We continue to be impressed more and more each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

I love this school. I transferred to Collegiate my freshman year and I've been in love with it ever since. The school provides me with many challenges and is actively preparing me for college. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a wonderful school and feels up to the challenge.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2006

Excellent PK Montessori program with well trained caring staff. Children also attend a quality music and physical education program. The school offers many opportunities for parental involvement. I would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 74%
Asian 8% 2%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 4% 6%
Hispanic 2% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9115 E 13th St N
Wichita, KS 67206
Phone: (316) 634-0433

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Independent School
Wichita, KS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT