Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jackson Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 441 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

Jackson Elementary is a huge joke...My son is in 4th grade at Jackson,and let me tell you what a teacher named Ms.Cox(Cassandra Cox) said to me about my child.My son was struggling with a school project and he told me he has asked her for help numerous times.When I questioned her about why she wouldn't help him this was her response...Your child is always talking,laughing,and disrupts the class.I use to stay on him,but it's to the point I've just given up on him because it's pointless and a waste of my time.I couldn't believe what I heard.She has given up on my child...how many other children has she given up on?It's teachers like this that makes children hate school.This is why they fall behind.I told her that the children that struggle the most is the children she should help the most. She hug the phone up in my face.So I'll let you answer the question about how Jackson supports children with learning and attention issues...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

I have to agree with the prior post.As far as rating the school I couldn't even give it 1 star.The Principal there is very rude,disrespectful,and unprofessional.The teachers there all use their authority to over power the students.It 's a shame,really!The staff in the office are also very rude,and act like the parents bother them when we need answers for a question.I wish my child could be moved to another school,but this is the district we live in.My son use to love school.He tells me he HATES going to Jackson.Parents,please think about it long and hard before you decide to have your child/children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

I had a very bad experience at this school and I would not recommend this to ANYONE. I was a student there and I saw that the teachers take no interest in teaching and are always blaming the students for anything that happens. The school deserves it's rating of 1. I have also noted that their gifted program is good but students in the program are strongly disliked and discriminated. I also do not like the fact that the school mainly teaches reading, writing and math only and hardly has any projects. I would really not recommend this school to anyone.


Posted June 24, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about Jacson Elementary. Every school has their problems but I have had awesome teachers for the past 3 years. They have always worked hard to accommodate our religious beliefs and home values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

Our daughter started Kindergarten at Val Jackson in fall 2012. We have enjoyed the staff, and administration thus far. The kindergarten teachers are teaching the students how to read with a success of the read well program last year and trying it again this year. Our daughter is learning what we expect them to learn at this age. We are also making sure we do our part at home for her to excel. The behavioral system is great with our child. The traffic light system... We wish we had it growing up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

As a a parent of of 2 former students who attended this school., I concur with the last post. I do not understand why the district supt. does not clean house here and replace this administration. Many good teachers are being abused in front of students and this is being done by the school leader.There appears to be racial selection of students and staff, and exclusion of others. What message do we teach our children? . If you are not in this schools majority , you feel fear- inadequacy, Why is this reverse discrimination being allowed? These messages are why we have bullying. 259 do something quick , this is a volitale situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

As a parent of a gifted child I find that the school and staff seem to resent the gifted students. it doesn't seem like they are doing anything to help the program grow, especially since there isn't even enough room for one of the classes. The class is crowded in a very small room not intended for a classroom. Why aren't these kids' needs as important as students' on the other end of the spectrum? is there only one kind of diversity at this school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

principal and staff as a whole was rude, in effective and favored certain students and families in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I have bee a parent at Jackson for four years now. Yes we have seen some leadership changes and they each brought something new to the school. We have a great leader now and she is building her team and improvements have been seen and more will come. My oldest daughter has a great teacher and provides her and I great support. Which I will miss once she moves classes next year. My youngest daughter is doing good but has a class size of 23 which is not a lot of time to spend with a teacher, so I hope for a smaller class for her next year. If you are an active parent you will see the good things that are happening at your school. If you are not active you will tend to focus on the negative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

My child's teacher was organized , provided rigor and structured lessons, but the principal and staff as a whole was rude, in effective and favored certain students and families in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

I really liked my son's teacher, she worked hard, stayed late, had a challenging curriculum, and his scores went up alot. The school as a whole tho, was not as good as his last school. The kids were disrespectful to teachers and other students. The lunch room was out of control. It had a behavior plan that did not work for the kids who were out of control and was too stict for kids who did not need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This school was a huge mistake to go to ,we ended up changing schools ,my sons were behind so much from going to school here ,but they finally caught up and at a school they like now
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

My experience at Jackson has been positive. The staff and administration is open to questions and any issue I have raised has been addressed. The students are orderly and this allows for a calm learning environment, which increases student achievement. The school is fortunate to have had 2 strong principals since it opened in 2004. For a relatively new school, the staff has done a fine job of taking on academic challenges they inherited from other schools and building a foundation for success. I am proud to be a Jackson parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

I have a daughter in the 1st grade. I enjoy and appreciate (Mrs. Robinson) her teacher's efforts in pushing the student to do well and understand new information.But due to her changing teachers for next year, I am afraid she will not get that same dedication from her future teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

I am extremely impressed with the intermediate self- contained gifted teacher who is new this year. I would like to see the principal more involved, and other teachers more friendly. The specials teachers do an awesome job too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

My too sons we always trated as outsiders there because of the diversity they have at the schol but my kinigardener once we moved was so far behind compaired to other schools ,he like his new school because the school is not near as strict but feel like we wasted a year ar Jackson because there was no one on one help and no caring that now he will probably have to repeat a grade because the difference in what and how they teach at Jackson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

The school is too strict , the rules are intended to keep control, but end up being like a military, and stifle students fun to learn, and enjoy school. The teachers are mean and do not really teach- the principal is uninvolved, and appears to have an agenda for 'projects' not running a school- I never see him in the halls with kids- or involved in student successes- he lets the clique teachers over run him and he does not ask parent input for the new behavior plan that requires students to walk all around the building and not talk- not talk in the lunch room, and Not talk in class hallways, only when spoken to--- way to strict
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

I enrolled my son just this year into kindergarten. I liked the ethnic diversity even though he is very much a minority. The teachers do seem to hold children accountable for their actions and the principal follows through as well. My complaints are that my son, again is in kindergarten. He is not rude or mean or even disrespectful however he is a talker. He is made to sit by himself facing a wall and frequently he is asked to leave his classroom to go be with another random teacher because he needs time to 'think.' Also, latchkey offeres honeybuns for breakfast and coco puffs for snack at 4:30. I feel like the children are not given enough quallity attention but instead are made to feel like an inconvenience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

My daughter started at Jackson in 2006. Jackson Elementary was open to students in 2004. Although my daughter was kinda scared at the ethnic diversity, she ended up okay with it. The education is a little below average in my opinion. The teachers try to teach, but the parents are not holding the children up to the excellence that they can achieve. My son will not be attending Jackson, but my daughter will be staying due to ethnic differences in my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

78 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
African American65%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic70%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities9%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students60%
African American51%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic64%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities27%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
African American67%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities39%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students64%
African American63%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities23%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students80%
African American78%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities46%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
African American67%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities33%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students63%
African American56%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities20%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 55% 7%
White 20% 68%
Hispanic 10% 16%
Two or more races 10% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2717 North Woodlawn
Wichita, KS 67220
Website: Click here
Phone: (316) 973-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT