Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Campus High Haysville

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 133 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

Wonderful school the staff is great, they take time and care about your child succeeding if your child takes the time theirselves. My kids have all excelled here and love it. They have great coaches in most sports and really good extracurricular activities other than sports. Every school has their problems but the way the staff handles them here is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

Im a student and Haysville Campus and the staff and principles have taught me strong and gave me knowledge i never knew i had it has lots of challanging academics and activities
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2010

Top notch school. Administration and staff are 1st class, great education and the sports are getting better with the hires of great young coaches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

An attendance rate of over 90% and a graduation rate of over 90%? Couple that with state test scores that outpace most large high schools and you have an excellent school. My children get a first-rate education at Campus. This is a school that is clearly headed in the right direction. A rating of only 3 is simply absurd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

I am alumni of Campus High School and I feel that Campus was a great school to get my high school education from. I believe that it is tougher than Wichita schools (which is a good thing because you actually learn). I have had many friends transfer out of Campus to Wichita South because they can not make the grades at Campus. I believe that if a person is trying to get their kids out of Wichita schools, Campus is a great place to turn to. If you are worried about drugs on Campus, I went there all four years and never saw any drug use. If a kid gets into that stuff its because they are hanging with the wrong crowd. And there is 'the wrong crowd' at any school. Campus is full of real down to earth people.


Posted March 23, 2008

We moved to the Haysville School district to get out of the Wichita school district (which we thought was bad) only to find that it wasnt much better and worse than what we had hoped. The teacher/parnet communication is horrible and the lack of disipline and zero tollerence policy depends on the situation and whether or not the school feels they might get sued. The one on one relationships between male and female students in the hallways and on campus is a direct reflection of lack of policy and procedures. We can not wait to get our student out of this school district. I would seriously consider Goddard, Andover, Derby or Maize if you are looking for a smaller community school that actually cares about the students and their well being both physically and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

As an alumni of this school, I found that these were the best 4 years of my life. The teachers were great and the scheduling that was offered (Where can you get an hour and a half to go see any teacher you need help from?) was the best. The people I have encountered in my life who have had bad experiences at Campus have been bad students. The ones not so concerned with learning as they were with what color they were wearing. Kids who forget that to get respect from teachers and administrators, you have to give respect first. All in all, Campus is a great school with very involved staff.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 29, 2005

My daughter attends Campus, and while she is a less than stellar student, I feel she is getting a much better education than Wichita schools had to offer. On the occasions I have had an issue with a teacher (on behalf of my daughter), I have found the administration to be helpful and competent. My daughter made straight A's in Wichita schools, but was on a 4th grade reading level in the 8th grade. I believe her grades were behavior based. She might be a C+ student at Campus, but I'd take that any day. She earned it and has knowledge to carrry her into her future. I'm proud of my daughter and I'm proud of her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I am not a parent but a student and I really do not like Campus. There are very minimal teachers and administrators that do care. The extracurricular activities are not the greatest but there is enough for everyone to be a part of school. The school is really 'clique' orientated. You are an outcast if you wear black and not dress up everyday. it is not a very safe place when it comes tornadoes. Since the school is an outside school we are expected to walk all the way across campus to get to shelter. Campus is a good school but needs major improvement in other places.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2004

Campus is a great school. I love all the activities that are offered for students. Between sports and after school activities, students are never bored. The AP classes and teachers are unmatched by any other school out there. Campus is definitely a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2003

I'm not a parent but one better. I was a student at Campus. I can say that the teachers made it fun and interesting. There is something for everyone at this school. When you need help with school work there are after school programs where the teachers can go one on one with you. Good advice for you is when your parents tell you that high school is the best time of your life then take them seriously and do all that you can to be involved.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

339 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

337 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

352 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

321 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

340 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
African Americann/a
Hispanic90%
Multi-ethnic88%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander86%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities72%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnic100%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities78%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Hispanic81%
Multi-ethnic76%
American Indian67%
Pacific Islander93%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities52%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Hispanic71%
Multi-ethnic82%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities58%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 67%
Hispanic 11% 17%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 West 55th St South
Wichita, KS 67217
Phone: (316) 554-2236

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Haysville High School
Haysville, KS



South High School
Wichita, KS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT