Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Wichita, KS
Students enrolled: 872

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Maize South Middle School 3

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
Some teacher just do not care or make the grade. Teachers that want to argue with a parent when a parent says their child is sick and should not be docked 50% for not turning it in on time (as they were are home sick with me). Teachers that tell kids to call their folks during the middle of the day if they did not turn in an assignment (first time not turning in), and then the teacher refusing to talk on the phone. Teachers that do not give students credit for the grades they get on papers if they do not do corrections. My children are on honor roll...Maverick honor in fact (all A's). The principal is incredible...willing to talk to a parent when they call or return emails to parents in a timely manner. Teachers need to be held accountable and not have 1st period with a teacher finish getting ready by doing her make up and hair. With that said, I will say that the honor classes teacher that I have had the experience are great. The honor class teachers, really challenge their students and make them think rather than just doing hand holding like some others do.

Maize South Middle School 1

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
Parents please beware that you do not have a choice! As a parent I am concerned about not only my children but all of the other children in the Maize district who apparently no longer have a choice about where they will go to school. We had no idea that this was a lottery and if we had known we would have chosen to move to the Goddard district.


Maize South Middle School 2

Posted May 11, 2012
- a parent
Be very careful when placing your child in these schools. They (meaning Maize schools themselves) pick & choose whom will go to what school. This is happening to us right now. My son attended Maize South Middle School & should carry over to Maize South HIgh School right across the street (along with all his friends) The school decided to pick him out of several hundred students to be placed in the other High School across town. Thus meaning all the children he's grown up with and gone to school with will attend MSHS and he will be asked to attend MSH across town. And get this! We actually own a home right across the street from MSHS he could walk. He will not be allowed to finish his last four years of high school with the children he's grown up with. What they're doing to our son is very in ethical. They pick and choose & you live with it. I thought we made a step up from Wichita schools & realized we took a huge step down. And our son will most likely be in treatment for depression shortly. Think very hard before placing your children in their schools. Don't think for one minute it can't or won't happen to your children. It's happening to mine as I write this review .

Maize South Middle School 4

Posted February 10, 2012
- a community member
They have a great principal and most of their teachers are great!! Their sports are great also and I would defiantly recommend Maize South Middle School!!

Maize South Middle School 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a student
I love our school. It is a great school. We have a great time here and are verry smart to. We are great at math and reading 7th grade math passed all the scores from last year scores. Our principal Mr. Herbic is amazing. To day in our school spirt asembly he is going to play basketball with some of our studentds. There is so mutch red, black, whate and gold going around the school. If you came in to our school on one of the spirt assmbily days, you would be amaized by all the color!!!


Maize South Middle School 5

Posted November 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Maize South Middle School 5

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Maize South Middle School 5

Posted February 11, 2009
- a student
Maize South Middle School is honestly the best school anyone could ever go to. Mr. Blazek is the best principal you could ever have, he cares about how people are doing in school, and encourages you do to your best everyday. The teachers are also the best teachers you can ever have. They teach you everything you need to know and more, to make sure you get exemplary on your state testing. The whole usd 266 district is the best district in Kansas. =]]


Maize South Middle School 5

Posted March 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Maize South Middle School 5

Posted February 19, 2008
- a parent
MSMS is the greatest school. Mr. Blazek is the best princlipal and all the teachers are excellent. Every kid needs a chance to go to a school like this.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maize South Middle School
3403 North Tyler Rd, Wichita, KS  67205
(316) 722-0421
Last modified Maize South Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maize South Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top