Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles Russell Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 306 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

My daughter is in kindergarten. Her teacher mrs. Bonner is a very good teacher. My daughter has gone from not being able to spell her name last summer to reading since starting kindergarten. The principal seems to really care about the students. He's even paid for field trips out of his own pocket. There are a lot of activities throughout the year for the kids. If I had to say one downside I'd say for kindergarten they do give a lot of homework. More than I think necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

We have had far too few positive experiences at Charles Russell. The office staff never returns your call, the teachers send all the work home for you to teach your child ( I have no clue what they do at school all day!), and non-existent feedback from the principle. I am extremely disappointed with this school. Do your child a favor and do not waste their potential on this mindless institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

Can't wait till my son is out of this school.. My son makes awesome grades. But that's because I have to study with him.. No thanks to the teacher.. She had me thinking that my son had ADHD when he doesn't she is lazy and can't control any of her kids in that class.. I have more bad things to say than good.. We move due to the job my husband has and for the first time I can't wait to move again all because of this school.. They can't even get the pot holes in the parking lot fixed.. Great School! I think not.. The testing scores are not good.. What are the kids really learning.. I think it's time for fresh new teachers to enter the school and let the older teachers retire because they don't love their job and are tired of teaching.. Let's get it together Charles Russell the kids are our future..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

I love our school! We have great teachers that are very involved in making sure the children have a successful school year. Mr. Salyers is a great principal who really cares about the students. I love the small class sizes, they get more one on one attention. My children are supposed to go to Poage, but I'm so glad we have them in Charles Russell. Absolutely amazing place for the kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I love charles russell, i'd never go anywhare else. we have great teachers. Our principal could do but i have never been to a different elementary school and never will!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

Charles Russell has been wonderful experience for my child. They offer a terrific STLP program, an excellent Academic team and super supportive teachers. My daughter has had a wonderful experience and I can't imagine sending her anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

Charles Russell has many technology opportunities for my child. I am very pleased with the education she has had so far. I am also impressed with the Reading Recovery program available at this school. No where else could a student get individual tutoring for 20 weeks if needed. Way to go Charles Russell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

My children have since left this school but as I reflect back on their time spent there, I wish that I would have pulled them sooner and placed them in the school that I placed them in. Send your child wherever you wish but if you send them to this school you will never know their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

I have 1 child in 1st grade and have had nothing but good things to say about the school. My child has some special needs and the school has gone out of its way to help my child get the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2006

During my children's years at Charles Russell I have had experience with the good and bad of this school. With the exception of 3 teachers, the other teachers were very unpatient, not understanding and played the favorites game. Great school? Send your child there and make the decision but as for my family? Never in a million years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

I have 3 children attending this school, 4th grade, 2nd grade, and kindergarten. We have had nothing but wonderful experiences with school (with the exception of a teacher I'm not crazy about, but you'll have that anywhere). All 3 of my children have excelled. My children are involved in basketball, track, STLP, Academic Team, and many other things the school has to offer. In my opinion, Charles Russell is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

I pulled my children from this school. I could no longer let them attend a school where I feel the teachers were allowed to yell at children and where I feel there is zero lack of support for parents by the principal. It was a nightmare for us as a family and if I were to be asked by anyone how I liked the school and if I would recommend it I would have to be honest in my feelings and beg them to send their child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

I have two children who attended this school and this school has some major issues that needs to be addressed. I have taken my children out of this school and have enrolled them elsewhere and can see a huge difference between the two schools. The level of education my children received from this school is below level. They have learned more from their new school, thank goodness. The principal is very unsupportive of parents and students. I feel that the staff is lacking in qualities that you may find elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students26%
Female23%
Male31%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female48%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students56%
Female62%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students32%
Female38%
Male25%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female67%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female76%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female33%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female60%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students61%
Female40%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students43%
Female47%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students64%
Female76%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students64%
Female76%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female71%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students64%
Female81%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 82%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian 1% 1%
Black 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Russell St
Ashland, KY 41101
Phone: (606) 327-2735

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Holy Family School
Ashland, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT