Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Silver Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2012

My children attended Silver Creek, but for the first time in ten years I have no more 'Bobcats'. (SAD!) SC has been like extended family to both me and my children. The administration, staff, and teachers have always been welcoming and professional. I have always felt safe and comfortable knowing my that my children were in good hands. Silver Creek is not only a nuturing environment but a competitive educational environment as well. I'm thankful my children received their educational start at Silver Creek. Love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

I can't say enough great things about Silver Creek! We have had a new principal for a few years now and things have changed for the better with her. My children have always thought the kids were nice here and they fit right in no matter how much money you make, or where you're from. They'll take you in with open arms! They're like family to my children. The staff go beyond what they're expected to. Fall festival is awesome! The principal here can not be complimented enough about the awesome job that she does as principal! She's developed a great love for reading, and interacts one on one with the children. You can tell she has a lot of experience and a love for what she does. She cares about each child and so does the staff. I always feel my children are safe when they leave for school on the school bus and I know they are well taken care of. I know they're learning to be a fantastic reader and preparing for the road to success as a college-bound student. Thank you Silver Creek Elementary!!!! I'm glad you're a part of my children's lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

I love this school! We had a new principal come to Silver Creek a few years ago and she has made wonderful improvements!! She is very interested in the students succeeding and the parents staying informed. I have two children who have attended this school and they love it as well. The teachers are excellent! The PTO has been wonderful in the past but, is currently not as good as it has been. The PTO generally has a large parent involvement and does a great job supporting the school and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

I have had 1 encounter where I disliked a teacher A LOT. but she however still helped me and made me the student I am today. Silver Creek Is OUTSTANDING in everything they do. They made me proud to be a bobcat and I will never forget the ones I have to leave behind. Silver Creek built my foundation to life and now Foley Middle school and Madison Southern high school will build the rest! Our principal drove early in the morning searching for us a place to go because of power outage. <3 I love my family at SC. I walked those halls when I was 4 and now I'm 12. I can still see my handprints on the wall. My footprints on the ground. And my Love and hardwork put into Silver Creek Test papers that were sent to Frankfort. I will love Silver Creek and I will cherish memories of happy moments and even some sad moments that the GREAT teachers helped me overcome. When I graduate from Harvard the first people I'm going to thank is Silver Creek Elementary. Without you Silver Creek, I wouldn't be able to do the things I am capable of. :) I even remeber loosing my first tooth at school! <3 Well anyways, It breaks my heart that it's time for Middle school. For you SC. HATS OF TO SILVER CREEK ELEM.!


Posted May 11, 2010

because the teachers really care about their students and love their job. I think they do a great job!! Thanks everyone, from teachers to janitor to bus drivers to staff. You are very much appreciated!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I grew up around this area and SC has always had a very good reputation. Now that I have 2 children at SC, I find that their reputation holds true. They have excellent teachers who really do care about students. Thank you to all the teachers and staff at SC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

I can't believe some of the rude remarks that I just read! I moved here last summer and my child completed one whole year at Silver Creek in Berea. He has actually done much better here. The teachers are very involved with him and myself. I think they do a great job and I have heard nothing but positive things from other people about Silver Creek since we moved here. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

I moved to another recently and my child is doing alot better now. Silvercreek is way behind in their studies and the principal is not at all nice. Teachers are very snooty and don't like parents to be involved at all. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

We moved here from another state and Silver Creek is far behind. Their lunchroom is small even they they 'remodeled' it so they don't like for you to eat lunch with your child(ren). The communication is not the greatest. They say you get a fall break and they display it on their sign outside, however the calendar says CKEA conference so that can be confusing. My child was excelling when we transferred to this school and now he's back down to average. I feel they should work a little harder with the students, care a little more & let parents have more involvement. I would not ever recommend this school to anyone. There are far better schools in the district. As far as school pictures are concerned, the county needs to find someone else like Lifetouch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

We have been at this school for 2 months and so far I have been happy with everything. The principal is outstanding and the teachers are very into the kids, and friendly with the parents. So far so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female66%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female60%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students64%
Female73%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students36%
Female35%
Male37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female55%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students78%
Female83%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female44%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female67%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students73%
Female74%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students85%
Female98%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 81%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 11%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 Old US 25 North
Berea, KY 40403
Phone: (859) 986-4991

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT