Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Foley Middle School 2

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
My child just completed her first year at Foley Middle and she could only say something good about 2 out of the 8 teachers she had this year. Most of the instructors are burned out and need a shake up. They give assignments but do not teach. They speak harshly and do not lead with intregrity. I might be driving to Lexington next year for her education. Dissapointed in many ways.

Foley Middle School 1

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
New parent to Foley and I must say my experience was not at all the greatest. I am very disappointed with the school overall. Dress code, parent staff communication, and overall appearance of the school are horrible. It's like stepping back in time. My main motivation for accepting a new position out of state is this school. My son is so unhappy here. Caudill middle on the other hand; state of the art in every sense of the word! The Principle took time to know each person. All feel welcomed and the pride is felt from the staff and students. Stay away from Foley.


Foley Middle School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
i love foley i met new people last year as a sixth grader because i just moved to berea during that time and now i know about everyone i am in 7th grade and i love it at foley

Foley Middle School
no rating

Posted July 25, 2009
- a community member
This school has wonderful kind kids and very caring a nd kind teachers.These kids are very smart,it is a wonderful middle school

Foley Middle School 4

Posted July 14, 2004
- a parent
I love Foley and so did my daughter. She graduated 8th grade this year with a sense of pride! All of our experiences have been positive. Administration and staff have always been helpful and have gone out of their way to be of assistance. While we didn't like the dress code, we adhered to it and tried not to think much about it. After all, the ultimate goal of going to school is to learn and to learn to your fullest potential. My daughter's teachers encouraged her to do her best at all times. She came away from Foley with a positive attitude and pride in herself & Foley. Administration and staff are available and welcome parental involvement. I don't think there is enough, it is always the same parents volunteering their time. My son is looking forward to Foley this school year, I'm sure he'll have a great experience too!


Foley Middle School 2

Posted January 08, 2004
- a parent
I think Foley has potential but unfortunately admin, faculty & parents have been at odds over dress code issues. Parents are treated as if their concerns aren't important. Principal has control of every committee, meeting, and decisions in the school. Parents and teachers are put on the committees to suggest improvements but are typically over ruled by principal. Dress code looks nice but kids are very unhappy. Many students are ashamed to say they attend Foley. Teachers want parents to believe students are happy about the dress code but I have spoken to many and none have been excited about it. It is unfortunate that it took Mr. Caudill (Superintendant) intervening to improve the communication between staff & parents.

Foley Middle School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2003
- a parent
My experience with Foley staff & teachers has been positive. Issues that have arisen have been dealt with quickly, efficiently, with an attitude of making the middle school experience go amoothly for my child, a 6th grader this year. I appreciate the dress code for the way it alleviates the additional stress of 'fitting in' by wearing certain styles. It saves time, the kids look equally great, & the focus of their attention can be turned toward learning. Thanks to Foley teachers for also abiding by the dress code. You look great, too, & I'm sure it has helped the kids make the adjustment!

Foley Middle School 4

Posted September 12, 2003
- a parent
I have a child that attends Foley Middle School. I have found the administration as well as the faculty and staff provide a very friendly and learning atmosphere. Each team of teachers sponsor an open house during the summer, so that the students can pick up their schedules, take tours, and meet their new teachers. The school also has a Parent Volunteer program that currently has 100 parent volunteers signed up to work. Several teachers also have set up an e-mail system so they can be in touch daily with the parents with homework, tests, and other team information. I have been very please with the experience that my child has had thus far at Foley Middle School.


Foley Middle School 3

Posted September 11, 2003
- a parent
Foley Middle School is making great efforts, with positive results, to improve the overall environment of the school. Various teaching methodologies are in use and many teachers teach to all of the learning styles. Teams have the flexibilty of regular scheduling or block scheduling. A wellness class was added during the 2002-2003 school year along with remedial reading classes for students in the 6th and 7th grades. The staff and administration are very 'open' to trying new and different ideas that may help the school.

Foley Middle School 4

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
Foley middle school is a wonderful school. There have been changes implemented that some have been unhappy with, the change I am speaking of is the newly implemented dress beginning this school year 2003-2004 code which has gone with much success and is accepted and liked by the majority of parents. There are however a few parents that are very unhappy with the dresscode and are entitled to their opinon as the dress code is in its infancy. The principal of the school is very active and goes above and beyond to be of any assistance the parents or students need. I feel Foley is very lucky to have such leadership. Beginning this year Foley offers many after school extracurricular activities. The students are very excited and enjoying the newly implemented program. Transportation is even provided for students if needed. I am proud that my child is fortunate enough to attend such a wonderful school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Foley Middle School
275 Glades Rd, Berea, KY  40403
(859) 625-6140
Last modified Foley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Foley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top