Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Berea Community Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
Berea Community Elementary School is a great school. My son will be in the fourth grade..and he has has some wonderful teachers. I can't say enough wonderful things about Kim Centers, Veronica Johnson, and Billie Buell. Mike Hogg is the principal and he is a great leader and role model for the students! But I am also a very involved parent, it takes involved parents and great school personnel to have succeed.

Berea Community Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I love Berea Community Elementary School! My daughter has attended there for the past 3 years and my son just started preschool there this year. The teachers are great and really care about a child's learning and education. I would recommend this school to anyone in the Berea area.


Berea Community Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Berea Community Elementary School 3

Posted September 07, 2006
- a parent
This school has great potential. Many teachers have a limited vision of what can happen in the classroom and are hampered by their inability to move beyond traditional methods of instructional delivery. The principal is working hard to improve the school but until teachers move instruction to active, hands-on, higher level, fun, involving lessons they will fall short of what is needed to transform the school.

Berea Community Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2005
- a parent
Kathy Newell is the greatest preschool teacher on Earth! She communicates with parents in such a way that it almost feels like we are in the classroom all day. The preschool program is great and the unit studies provide students with knowledge and skills to prepare them for kindergarten and beyond.


Berea Community Elementary School 3

Posted December 17, 2004
- a parent
I am very saddened by events at the school in recent years. Some of our best teachers have left and the addition of Mr Masters as the highschool principal. Berea was a top rated school in our state until it seperated from Berea College. I say lets take a few steps back so that we can move into the future with that Pirate Pride. Lets involve Berea College!

Berea Community Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2004
- a parent
One mistake Berea Community made was in allowing Berea College to separate itself from the school, though Berea has had its problems, it still remains one of the better schools in the region, and yes, I am a Kentuckian, and proud of it. My son, also a Kentuckian, received an excellent education from BC, the sports are opened for everyone as is the band program. this makes it a great place for a local student to be able to take advantage of the programs and to participate. There is lower student to teacher ratio than any other in the county, except for maybe the Christian schools.

Berea Community Elementary School 3

Posted April 26, 2004
- a parent
This school and its independent district is a bundle of unfulfilled potential. It is a K-12 entity in a progressive community, with wonderful caring staff. But it is stifled by state 'accountability' programs that waste energy, dulled by a group of families that don't give a rip about education (a product of KY culture), and unwilling to cast off the NEA, stale educational methods, on-size-fits-all techniques. This could be great school if it would stop trying act like other public schools, tell the State to take a hike, and live up to its visionary charter. In fact it should become a charter school and pursue excellence using it's strengths and innovation solely under accountability to its parent base.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Berea Community Elementary School
2 Pirate Parkway, Berea, KY  40403
(859) 986-4065
Last modified Berea Community Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Berea Community Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top