Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bristow Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 696 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2013

Love Bristow! Love Bristow teachers! I have two children and a niece that attend Bristow Elem. They range from preschool, 1st, and 3rd. The past and present teachers have been nothing but blessing in my children's lives. They are eager to learn and supported and motivated every step of the way. Extra curricular activities are encouraged as well and we take part in Girl Scouts and a few different sports where the parents have the opportunity to step up and volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

My children started at Bristow in 4th and 1st grades. I was leary of allowing them to go to this school, based on the state scores, but have been nothing but pleased with the quality of the education my children receive here. The administrators and the teaching staff, along with the support staff, have always been welcoming and accomodating. My children both score high on the standardized tests each year (as high as and/or higher than they scored at alvaton elementary and cumberland trace elementary). We have had very few issues with other students as far as bullying/ classroom environment. I am VERY pleasantly surprised with our experience at Bristow and I am continuing to send my kids here even though we have recently moved into a "better" school district. I feel that this school does the absolute BEST with the conditions they are given to work within and couldn't imagine having a better, more well rounded learning environment for my students. As an active parent volunteer and a family member of a Bristow staff member, I see a lot of what goes on inside the school and I have no qualms with how Mrs. Wolfram or her staff handle the operations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

This school is NOT at all for a child who needs extra help , there are to many students , and if your child is struggling he or she will be lost in the shuffle .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Bristow is a great school with a caring staff who work to educate all children with love and understanding.


Posted October 23, 2008

My daughter has been going to Bristow since kindergarten.I don't like all of the school's policies,but my daughter has had alot of good experiences at this school.She's on Honor Roll,Leadership,and likes most of her teachers.Typical 11 year old.She has really grown into herself over the last few years.She's confidant in her abilities and getting more so every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

My daughter has been going to this school for 3 years and we've been very pleased. Our daughter has excelled academically. The teachers are completely awesome (well, the 1-3 grade teachers, we haven't gotten to the higher grades yet). All staff, including the principal, are extremely nice and professional. Kudos to Mrs. Jourdan, Mrs. Richmond, and Ms. Jones, they've done a wonderful job with our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

i have two children at bristow and they love thier teachers, i think very highly of the school and its staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

I am totally dissatisfied with Bristow. They give a lot of lip service to 'performance and critical thinking' but I'm not seeing it. I think they're TRYING, but honestly, the punitiveness is so ingrained in this school that they don't even see it. I removed my daughter because I truely believe that school was damaging to her. We are homeschooling now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

I love this school, as a parent of a special needs child Bristow has always gone above and beyond to meet the needs of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

Bristow is a excellent school the staff there is so informative and helpful in addressing the needs of the students. Our children are happy there and love all the teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

i went to bristow and absoulutely loved it . props to mrs.moore she was my favorite ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2007

wonderful school. needs some improvements but absolutely wonderful teachers and staff. Mrs. Moore is a great music teacher and encourages all students to find their talents. Mr.Cook is also a very exceptional person. He is the best principal a school could ever have. He is very involved in the students progress and encourages all students to be achievers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

My grandson goes to this school and has done very well. His parents and I are quite pleased. However, I do not recommed the after school program...it is full of teaching students who are not interested in the students. They have the attitude that they are just there to take up space.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

My daughter attended Bristow in 1st grade after having a teacher in another school district for Kindergarten. It is such a wonderful school where my daughter and I both felt comfortable! We love Bristow and recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students17%
Female8%
Male26%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White19%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students31%
Female23%
Male38%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students42%
Female47%
Male35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students21%
Female18%
Male24%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students26%
Female29%
Male22%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students34%
Female31%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female42%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female46%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students39%
Female33%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students41%
Female64%
Male21%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students44%
Female47%
Male42%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students29%
Female31%
Male27%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students35%
Female39%
Male32%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students52%
Female69%
Male37%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
19%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 81%
Hispanic 11% 4%
Black 10% 11%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6151 Louisville Rd
Bowling Green, KY 42101
Phone: (270) 842-1960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rivendell Elementary School
Bowling Green, KY


Briarwood Elementary School
Bowling Green, KY




Parker-Bennett-Curry School
Bowling Green, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT