Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cumberland Trace Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 450 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2013

I was a student at Cumberland trace back in the mid 70's, and the school had high standards then. When I moved from Alvaton to CT district I was worried because Alvaton was a good experience. However CTES is higher than any expectation I could have. Teachers are top notched in training and experience. The teachers really do care about the children's learning and are very in tune making students feel empowered. Dr Evans runs a very tight ship and knows each and every move in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Cumberland Trace is a school where everyone that works there cares about the students and helping them succeed. I've never seen a school with so many people that really and truly, honestly care about the pupils. Cumberland Trace in my opinion is the best school in Bowling Green, KY. I wish my daughter was still attending there but she's now moved to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

Cumberland Trace is an exceptional school. The staff is incredible and Dr.Evans(principal) is the best. We have 4 children at this school and have been very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Awesome school!!!!!!! I am fortunate my children attend there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

I give this school 5 stars. THe pricipal Dr. Mary Evans is outstanding and know every little thing that is going on it that school. She is willing to go that extra mile for all the students, she lets them know THEY are important, and is there for them. The teachers are GREAT and go out of their way even after school is ended to help! I can not say enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Compared to one of the other local schools, we love Cumberland Trace. The area went thru redistricting and we were one of the areas that was affected. It is a blessing. We thought Briarwood was a nice school, but Cumberland Trace is awesome. The pricipal is such a loving, wonderful lady, that keeps the children first. The school may be old, but there is alot to offer inside. Spanish for primary students? Yes, and they love it. Tiger Bucks are awarded as the children are recognized for good behaviors. The kids are then allowed to 'spend' their money in the 'store' set up with 'rewards'. I prefer this as to my child getting candy everyday for rewards. This school is just awesome. They are working on being more green, and are really conscious of their surroundings. I just cannot say enough...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Best administration and staff I have ever seen. Mrs. Evans, the principal, knows all of her students and they all love her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

since my daughter has been attending this school ,her grades are not good .I have ask 3 or more times in the last month for feedback on my daughters scores. i havent gotten much feedback. I am a very upset parent and hope that something is to change. My faith in cumberland trace is not good. I am very very upset.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

Moving here from California, this school is fantastic! The principle, Dr. Mary Evans is A+. The academics are impressive and broad range. Assistance given regarding financial needs relating to music/field trips was so generous for my daughter and I (single mom). Best elementary experience my daughter has had. She loves Mr. Baxter (6th grade), band and chorus. Something is always going on/activities for the family/students i.e., school carnival, yard sale, fall festival, book fair, concerts, etc... You just can't go wrong allowing your child to attend this school. Smaller school, better attention given. Great teachers and staff, helpful and caring. My hat's off to this school. I just wish my child could have attended all her elementary years here, but we will take 5th & 6th grade and be thankful. Keep up the great reputation Cumberland Trace! Thank you to Dr. Mary Evans & PTA for your devotion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2005

I previoulsy attended this school about 4 years ago. I have moved from place to place and so far this has been the best school. All of my teachers were really nice(specificly Mrs.McCrary). Your child will be sure to have a good education after after attending this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 8, 2005

I'm actually a student who went to Cumberland Trace for 6th grade (I'm now in the 8th)and I think that Cumberland Trace is a magnificent school with great teachers (particularly Mr. Baxter!)
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female48%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female65%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students68%
Female65%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students52%
Female55%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female70%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female70%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female53%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female56%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students67%
Female66%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students51%
Female56%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students45%
Female46%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian18%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students49%
Female54%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian46%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female54%
Male35%
African Americann/a
Asian18%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students63%
Female76%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asian18%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 82%
Asian 12% 1%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 4% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

830 Cumberland Tr
Bowling Green, KY 42103
Phone: (270) 781-1356

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Anchored Christian School
Bowling Green, KY



Briarwood Elementary School
Bowling Green, KY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT