Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Academy Of Carrollton

Private | PK-10 | 81 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Carrollton

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $87,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $514.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

While the curriculum is a solid one, we had to transfer our child and found that he/she was behind in math at the public school. Love the emphasis on Bible but too rule-upon-rule and very little compassion shown to children. Expected to tow the line or get out. Poor direction from administration and very little knowledge. Teachers nor school is accredited and many universities won't accept that your child graduated from a non-accredited school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

my three grandchildren attend C.A.C. and love it. in every aspect of their development, i see growth in their abilities as children to excel in the academics, as well as in being taught the idea that God should be a part of their school experience. thank God for C.A.C. Lew & JoAnn Combs


Posted January 12, 2011

I would have highly recommended this school a few years back but due to poor leadership and cutbacks on staffing this school has begun to fail. Due to the lack of funds, for example, the new gym is rarely heated above 52 degrees in winter and air conditioning is limited in the summer months to "special events". So many students are not paying full tuition making the families that are suffer. I was really hoping to keep my children in this school until 8th grade at least but now I am looking to find another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

CAC is a great school! My daughter is attending K4 and has learned to read entire books and can write her name in cursive handwirtting. Her vocabulary is extensive and they teach the children very good manners along with the bible studies that they do not get in public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

I attended a private school when I was young, it clossed when I reached 5th grade (1969). My experience with CAC dates back to 1993 to 2008 and beyond. I have had one child attend k-5 through 8th grade and she excelled at CAC. She went on to public school and passed all classes with straight A's. I now have one enrolled in CAC for the past 4 years. She loves the school very much and she amazes me with what she has learned. I would recomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

I am a former parent of a CAC student. It is a great school! CAC has wonderful caring teachers from K4 to 12th. They do a great job recruiting not only qualified teachers but quaility teachers. The curriculum used at CAC does an excellent job preparing students for college. I attended a small private school like CAC that used the same curriculum and have attended excellent colleges including Oxford University in England. At CAC students will be able to reach their dreams while being closely guided by a wonderful staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

I must respectfully disagree with the reviewer who mentioned it is only about money. The teachers make less than minimum wage and the principal works for no salary at times. That is an act of love, not greed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

I am the parent of three children currently attending CAC. This school is outstanding. We have experience with three schools and CAC is by far the best. CAC is unquestionably top notch academically. Spanish is available for all grade levels. Advanced math classes begin in seventh grade; AP courses are taught in HS. They've even added a music program (which all my children love). The small class size enables high quality classroom discussion. I cannot say enough positive comments about the staff at CAC. They truly care about each child, appreciating each child's uniqueness. My middle school child raves about his teachers; we hear stories about the lively conversations in class. Learning at CAC is fun! As an example of the richness of the program, my 2nd grader is learning piano, Spanish and taking Tennis! We drive 1/2 hr each way to have the kids at this outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

I am a recent college graduate who attended CAC for elementary, middle, and returned for my junior and senior years of high school. The education I received was superior to that of the public school, but more writing needs to be added to the curriculum. Also, I feel as if students are too sheltered from outside events, and this is often to their detriment, not to their advantage. I have seen so many times that when students are released from the environment, they go wild. This may be due to lack of parental control or from lack of social involvement, but maybe not. Of course this has not been the case for all students. As long as parents and teachers stay involved together, and if your child is willing to be open-minded and wants to learn, CAC is a wonderful place for your child to grow.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 13, 2006

One of the best Christian schools I have been involved with. I am so thankful to God for it. High quality for much less than the average Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

I am currently enrolled in highschool at CAC. The school is amazing. The atmosphere in the classrooms is great. The teachers really care about their students and are awesome role models to all of us. They not only teach us math and English, but they teach us valuable lessons through the way they live theirs lives. Our sports program isn't as good as other school's, but we enjoy it. Since CAC is such a small school, classmates tend to feel like brothers and sisters. Instead of superficial friendships, students develop meaningful, strong relationship that will last a lifetime. I personally would not want to attend any other school. CAC is a unique place where I not only get the best possible education in academics, but I'm daily learning how to be a woman of faith.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2006

CAC is amazing. I am currently a college student (a graduate of CAC), and everyday we are taught things in college, that I already know thanks to CAC. It does a wonderful job preparing students for college. I attend a private college, and the level of work is more advanced that most public universities. I know that I would not be prepared for this, had I not attended CAC. I think that the spirituality of the students is amazing, and that they really have hearts for the Lord. It is a great place, and I plan on sending my children there!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 5, 2005

My daughter attended CAC a couple of years in the grade school and two years in the high school. Some things were positive, but there were many negative things also. The Abeka curriculum is repetitive and does not prepare the student for college very well. Also, the quality of the teaching staff is not up to par. Christian schools such as CAC are not the Christian environment that some think. Generally, I found that the high school students were not living Christian lives. There was not much of a difference between these students and public school students. In some ways, I found public school students to be kinder, with more respect for others. I would recommend the grade school, but not the high school. The Abeka curriculum, however, is very stressful for the students. In my opinion, CAC needs to teach the golden rule to the high School students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

Hello, I am Sarah and I went to cac in 7th grade. I loved that school so much, and I would do anything to go back. I miss my teachers so much. I hope to come and visit next year. When I went to cac the Quality of academics was WONDERFUL. The teachers are so nice and they want your child to do great, and they do the best they can in helping them. I miss u all and I hope to see u all soon. always loving u all, Sarah Hussey
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 16, 2005

CAC ia a wonderful learning environment. I attended a couple of years there myself and now I have a daughter in K4. The only set back is involovement in the community. The younger kids can play little leagues sports, but you are not as involved with the community as it would be with a public school. It is all just a matter of opinion...if you want advanced education this is it, if you want your child to learn at an average level, but be involved in the community...this isn't the place. But I personally fully support CAC. They are planting the good word and putting children a step ahead with their advanced cirriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

CAC only cares about what it looks like on the outside. They want more students so they have to make things look good to people. Once they get your money they do not really care what happens. If you want your child in a better environment then this school is for you but its not worth the money. Learning is equal as a public school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 81%
Black 4% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1703 Easter Day Road
Carrollton, KY 41008
Phone: (502) 732-4734

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT