Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central Hardin High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1830 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2014

MY SCHOOL IS GREAT AND IT SHOULD BE FIVE STARS AND YOU SHOULD GO THERE
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2011

I did not grow up in E-Town, however,I had a sister and brother that attended Central. They participated in soccer and cheerleading, as well as other extra cirriculars. Both have continued their education and service. When moving here, we chose to build in the district because of the good scores at the time and prior knowledge of all schools in the area. We have been extremely happy all the way around. They have, in our opinion, done extremely well academically and have excelled in all sports the past year . Testing scores only go so far when rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

Central Hardin High School is an outstanding school with a faculty that really cares about students. Students appear to be well behaved, very respectful, and orderly each time I have been in the school. My 17 year old still looks froward to going to school each day. Way to go Central and the Hardin County Schools. By far, the best school district near Elizabethtown, KY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

at one time i would say it was a good school, until graduation night.When a senior is not allowed to walk the line,just because his shoes did not suit Mr. Ortiz.This senior has worked hard to get to that point, and then he was denied the right to join his classmates. To me no matter what they wear it is suppose to be their night not Mr. Ortiz's night......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

Horrible disorganized, oppressive and doesn't care about there student's
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2009

this school is awesome. people need to attend this school if they have the choice and recomendation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

CHHS is a great school. It has the size that enables them to offer more than most schools but the faculty that keeps it feeling small and like a family community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

For the short time I went to this school as a Freshman a year ago, I could tell this is a great school. There were tutor programs for you if you were struggling in a program. The teachers cared and strived to reach out to each individual student so they could succeed. I never feared being at this school or any school in the district. The block scheduling is so much easier on students. They had time to learn, ask questions, and do their class/homework during class. I was failing Algebra 1 mid way through one quarter and in four weeks, I raised my grade 20 points, to get a B on my report card. Great Grading Scale too. Best school district I've ever been in. I know I would've received a great education If I could've stayed here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2008

Having two daughters who have attended this school, and being an educated parent as well, I feel like I need to comment. The team spirit of CHHS is strong, I don't have any complaints about the activities being presented, and the JROTC program has been wonderful for my daughter. However, the mediocracy with regards to the academics is scary. My daughter has not been pushed, challenged, nor encouraged by this school. She's going to graduate and I truely feel she's not ready for college. I was shocked when my daughters brought home a form in 8th grade asking them (at 13-14 yrs old) to chose the weight of their high school courses depending on whether they will attend college. Why are they even making that an option? CHHS is questionable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I am proud to teach at a school whose administration and faculty place students' needs above all else. Literacy First, Thoughtful Education, and Smaller Learning Communities programs have honed our faculty's teaching strategies, have enabled our students to reach their academic potential, and have given parents confidence in the education that their children are receiving. Visitors to our school comment on a rigorous curriculum, a talented staff, and an engaged, happy learner.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 31, 2007

My kids continue to receive and excellent education. The school is well lead and have good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

Central Hardin is an excellent school from top to bottom. The teachers are caring, the students work hard & want to do well, and the parents are very involved. We are the largest high school in our district and offer something for every type of student. We annually win athletic, academic, & extra-curricular awards, and our seniors earn millions in scholarship offers. There will always be rumors and stereotypes regarding schools, including CHHS, but those adults & teens involved at the school know we have the best school around!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2006

Central Hardin has numerous extracurricular activities and a great administration. The environment is welcoming and the teachers are willing to help the students. My only complaint is a little lack of focus on the part of a few teachers, although most are excellent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2006

As an educated parent of two CHHS students I can honestly give the school an A rating. The overall academics is challenging and prepares students for college and for life. The principal and staff truly support academics and extra-curricular programs to the fullest and are very open to parent's concerns. Of course there are things that could be improved upon but Im very pleased, as are my children of their experience at Central. Thank you CHHS for offering them the tools that have helped them earn their scholarships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

My son and I had a wonderful experience while he attended Central H.S. He found most of his teachers to be intelligent, they encouraged the students to expand their horizons and find their individual strengths. We were a military family and our experience with his middle and high school were a great experience. He graduate in 2002 and I know he would not change most of his high school experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Central hardin is by far one of the worst schools that i have ever sent one of my children to. As a military family we move alot and i have seen that they do not really care about the childrens education allowing them to skip class, pda in the hallways, and not always providing proper punishment. Do not send your kids here!! send them to trinity or assumption in louisville where they will get a real fine education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

My daughter had a wonderful experience at CHHS.Great education, many activities, never spoke negatively about the staff. All organizations have disgruntled staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

I currently work in the district and graduated from CHHS several years ago. This past year I worked there and was very disappointed in the way things were handled. As a faculty memeber of this school, I was very disappointed in my Alma Matar. The staff was not welcoming to me or my fellow co-worker that I worked with closely, I was very disappointed in the staff. Most of the schools that I have worked at, teachers are required to be in the hall between class changes to break up any aguments that might lead to a fight. I could walk the halls from one end to the other and not see a teacher one. This school needs major help.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 22, 2005

Excellent school with great teachers who know how to do their job. Freindly enviroment and their CATS test scores will be on the rise soon, I guarantee it!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

478 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

470 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students58%
Female66%
Male50%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students26%
Female33%
Male20%
African American12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students79%
Female83%
Male74%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
36%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
35%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students41%
Female43%
Male40%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students48%
Female45%
Male51%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students60%
Female64%
Male57%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students66%
Female63%
Male69%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20143What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on average composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 81%
Black 6% 11%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3040 Leitchfield Rd
Cecilia, KY 42724
Phone: (270) 737-6800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Glen Dale Center
Elizabethtown, KY



Elizabethtown High School
Elizabethtown, KY


John Hardin High School
Elizabethtown, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT