Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Corbin, KY
Students enrolled: 777
 

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Corbin High School 3

Posted February 02, 2010
- a student
This school is pretty cool. Most of the teachers are great but there is a few I wouldn't want near certain people. I cried one morning afraid that something may happen. I'm not the only one who feels that way. Some other people also think that. It is terrible. I just wish I could feel more safe and secure at school. I am one of the top students in my class, so I have a good amount of friends. There is one student who sometimes gets on my nerves. They think they are just God's gift to mankind. They tell someone to do something the 'right way.' I would love to have a school that wasn't so caught up in cliques and sports. This school is a good choice to an extent.

Corbin High School 2

Posted February 02, 2010
- a student
I think that it is a good school for the most part, but some teachers should be watched.....


Corbin High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Corbin High School has the best teachers!

Corbin High School
no rating

Posted July 24, 2008
- a student
I attended Corbin High School and received a wonderful education and felt prepared for college, with the exception of the Math department. I felt that the Math department didn't prepare me for the college entry level. I am a good math student but just wasn't taught the proper material my junior-senior years. I even took a higher level math at Corbin but still wasn't prepared. CHS prides itself in its sports, which they do very well (as they should considering the large staff they hire JUST for sports activities) but the kids aren't interested in arts, writing, music and such. I also thought that Corbin is the town where their parents live their lives through their children, that to me is very sad. CHS has without a doubt the best sports programs in the area, but when compared ot the state as a whole, its really not that great.

Corbin High School 5

Posted February 25, 2008
- a parent
Both of my children attended Corbin, and graduated with honors. They had no probelms getting in to their respective colleges, and have excelled there as well. Both were active athletically and academically. Corbin has a highly sports motivated program, yet they do not lose sight of why they are there, to learn. They are ranked 3rd overall in the state at this time academically, and have maintained a top 20 status since these rankings began.


Corbin High School 5

Posted November 10, 2007
- a parent
Great education, great social environment, great sports. Corbin truly is a great school. There is a family feel to every Redhound in the school. When I say Redhound, it's not just the athletes. It's every student.

Corbin High School 5

Posted December 08, 2006
- a student
I graduated from Corbin High just three years ago. I strongly feel that Corbin is the best school in the area. I now attend a University and due to my eduactiona at Corbin, I have been able to attain very high goals in college. Corbin taught wiht a high level of academics. Moreover, while sprots are important at Corbin and help teach leadership skills, there is aslo a GPA level that must be met in order to play. I will soon be teaching at Corbin myself, and I will also send my own children to Corbin as well.

Corbin High School 1

Posted October 01, 2006
- a student
I attended Corbin High for two terriable years before leaving and going to another high school. The education here isn't all that great no matter how much they sugar coat it.Spots comes first even before education and everyone knows that!


Corbin High School 2

Posted August 24, 2005
- a student
I have been a student in the corbin city schools, and I'm now a parent. I can't help but notice that there is such a strong push for children to be athletic, but a lack of effort in pushing them to do better in school. The coaches are so worried about tradition, that they forget why kids are sent to school to begin with. Also, even the teachers seem to make differences between the kids based on who their parents are, and how much money they make. Its bad enough that children have to face those problems from their classmates, let alone their teacher. Don't get me wrong, i do want my child to be involved in sports, but school comes first. I feel that corbin city schools should start gearing themselves towards education first.

Corbin High School 3

Posted July 20, 2004
- a parent
One of the better schools in the area but several teachers lack interest in teaching the students and leave it to the students to teach themselves. Sports outshine academics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Corbin High School
1901 Snyder St, Corbin, KY  40701
(606) 528-3902
Last modified Corbin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Corbin High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top