Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Augustine School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Covington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $56,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2010

St. Augustine is a GREAT little school. The principal is very concerned about the children as individuals. This school has excellent teachers. My children have been at other schools and I can honestly say, St. A's has the best teachers. This makes an incredible difference. St. A's has small class size and a diverse student body. However, the school still maintains a strong Catholic identity. The school is very disciplined and poor behavior and poor study habits are not tolerated from the children. The children are encouraged to do their best work and demontrate their best behavior. I drive my children 25 minutes each way to school every day, so they can benefit from this great little school. I encourage you to check it out. Sr. Maria Therese is really a great principal. She is knowledgeable about what goes on day to day and she is open to hearing from the parents. I am very pleased to have my children attend St. Augustine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

This year our principal reported a significant growth in enrollment. The school activities have made it in the local papers. They have a great school to showcase. You will want to be part of the St. Augustine School community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

The faculty and administration at St. Augustine School have put forth much effort in creating a wonderful educational environment where children will thrive. My children attend St. Augustine, and we are proud of them and their achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

I have been a parent at St. Augustine for three years. My children have differing academic abilities, and their gifts were identified very early and they have received individual attention to enhance their success. The benefits of teacher experience and quality, small class size, and administrative leadership far outweigh the limited budget they work under compared to other schools. I am also glad that my children have the opportunity to have friends from various ethnic, racial, and socioeconomic backgrounds. I believe that these friendships give them a much more realistic view of the country as a whole than schools with a more homogenous makeup. Finally, St. Augustine School focuses on developing the whole child with excellent art and music instruction as well as a balance of spiritual and physical activites that encourage my children to develop all of their gifts - spiritually, academically, and culturally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

St. Augustine School teachers prepared me well for high school. They taught me discipline and a love for learning. The teachers were fair and professional. I'm glad my parents sent me to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2007

The school is very Catholic. It is parental guidance that the students who misbehave need. The school's faculty and administrator are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

Principal and teachers work hard with less. Students are encouraged to study each day and do their best. The school sponsors Catholic activities where all students are welcome. This school reflects a stable atmosphere in the city of Covington.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

As a former student at St. Augustine School in the 1970s, I was encouraged to live my faith and was prepared for my high school years at Notre Dame Academy. I have returned to St. Augustine School to continue the good work I have received. I enjoy teaching at St. Augustine School. I have shared my talents with the school and parish community. I share a personal history rooted in St. Augustine Parish. I was baptized and confirmed in the Church; I also made my Final Vows as a Sister of Notre Dame in 1988. I work with great people; our St. Augustine faculty represents a wealth of teaching experience. Bravo to those who make St. Augustine a place I WANT TO BE! Check out our website: www.staugustines.net
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 29, 2007

St. Augustine School provides an excellent Catholic education to my child. My entire family benefits from St. Augustine Parish Community. The principal continues to make school improvements by writing grants. Each year new things happen at this school. It is full of life! Good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

I have 2 children currently attending StAugustine. They are fairly bright children, and while the school offers special programs and assistance to children who have lower than average abilities, they refuse to address the issue of offering more advanced children. There are also many behavioral issues of children that are not addressed, while minor infractions such as 'playing with a pen' result in academic violations. There is only one academic team in the school, for grades 7&8. The 3-6 basketball teams are not allowed to return to the league from this year because of the behavior of both coaches and children. Very embarrassing as a parent trying to raise children to have Christian behaviors. StAgustine needs a lot of work as a Catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

I went to St.Augustines for a couple of years, and my over all opinion was ok. Yes they have a good computer system, but they have health issues too. Every once in a while some of my classmates and I would find a roach here and there. Thats why they have closed the locker rooms. That is the place where roach's live. Don't get me wrong,St.Augustine is a great school, Most of all its a good,small school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 14, 2003

I've had one child complete St. Augustine School and currently have one in the second grade. The principal and teachers are the biggest asset to our school. Many of the teachers were students here and have come back to teach. We have a very strong academic program. A state of the art computer lab with an Apple Computer core leader on site. The parent involvement could be better. The same people seem to volunteer for everything. I would like to see additional extracurricular activities which would require more parental involvement (volunteers).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My child has attended St. Augustine School For 4 years now and we are very pleased with the schools curriculum. The staff is wonderful and very personable. They teach the kids not only of the required subjects, but about respect morals and the teachings of God. Things that all kids should be aware of. I am very fortunate to have a school such as this to have my son attend. I thank god for this every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 81%
Black 13% 11%
Two or more races 13% 2%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Covington
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1840 Jefferson Avenue
Covington, KY 41014
Phone: (859) 261-5564

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT