Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ninth District Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2013

This is school is nothing but a mess. I knew a kid that went there in elementary school and brought lice into the middle school. You hear a lot of people talking about how bad R.A Jones Middle School is, but it is no where as near as bad a this. They have no respect for the children, as I know for a fact because 3 of my cousins have went there and 1 of my cousins go there now , all split apart in age by 3 years. The school is like a below commenter said , infested with bed bugs and lice, making my mom(the one that takes care of my four cousins) spend money she doesn't have. She has 4 nieces and nephews to worry about plus myself and my 3 brothers and sisters. 8 kids . She shouldn't have to worry about this. The teachers have no potential or joy for teaching the kids also. At this point 9th district should just be demolished to save hundreds of families the trouble.


Posted October 31, 2012

Mr. Shephard has proven himself in the short time school has been in session. Two out of the 3 children have great teachers this year. I do take issue with a 3rd grade teacher who deems it appropriate to discuss her personal life with her students. I still have a very BIG issue with teachers and teacher's aides who have assaulted children still teaching. However, since it seems to have been aimed at the child who is disabled, there seems to be no issues with the other two children. I stand firm in my belief that these two teachers should NOT be working with children since they themselves have issues controlling themselves. They are NOT good role models for elementary children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

I had a terrible experience here the environment was severely caustic. The classroom was out of control and a student assaulted a teacher.


Posted February 24, 2012

This school is horrible!! It only gets one star because you can't post a review without at least one star. The academics are subpar at best, my children could probably learn more watching educational TV than they do in this school. The staff, with the exception of a few good ones, are a joke. They do not care about the children in this school, they care about money. The school is also infested with bed bugs and lice and they could care less, and do not do anything to prevent it. Yet they expect you to send your child into this bug pit everyday, and spend all your money trying to keep your home pest free. If you happen to have a child with a learning or behavioral disability, then please turn around and find another school. This school is not interested in putting in the work with your child to make sure they are successful, their solution is to urge you to put them on medicine so they don't have to do anything, even if the child can be helped without medicine. There are many more issues with this school, but they won't let you post on here if you write them, so I will just say read what it won't let you post and come up with your own conclusions from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

I went to grade school here and my grand daughter goes there now. This is an awesome school!


Posted October 1, 2009

So far my daughter has recived good school lesson plans
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I am very pleased with the education my sons are receiving at Ninth District, the teachers and staff are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I really like Ninth District. I wasn't sure about sending my son to a public school but I have been pleased overall. The teachers are very helpful, and usualy we get regular updates on things that are going on at the school and with my son's progress. My only gripe is that there aren't any art or music classes, but I understand that is how it is at most schools now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

My son graduated from 9th Dist. and now my grandchildren are going. I have the highest regards for this administration. They love the children and try diligently everyday to teach them respect, dignity, along with learning lifeskills they need in everyday life. The academic excellence is achieved on EVERY level. Mr. Lockerd, Mr. Ross and the teachers EXPECT respect, achievement and are all excited about their jobs. The children feel that excitement and expectations and try their best to achieve what is put before them. Thank you, thank you to this administration for making it exciting and challenging to go to school! Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

I am very pleased with this school and the academic progress that my daughter has recieved here. I choose this school for my child to attened because it was very well now for its education level. The teachers are very helpful, when you ask them about your child and how they are doing they tell you and if you want any extra work for them to do or ideas to help them improve they are out to help you in any way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

My granddaughter attends this school and I am very pleased with the school as far as handling problems with the children fighting Mr.Ross and Mr.Lockerd were extremly helpfull with the problem when ever I or my daughter call on their assitance they were helpful to us the problem was solved. I see both principles outside in the morning and afternoon interacting with the students, and monitering the buses, now the bus drivers I dont agree with they dont pay attention to the children, fights occur on the bus and they do nothing except watch or do nothing. And as far as activities thay have very few which should be addressed, over all I sincerly like the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

The quality of academic programs is poor. Music is offered to few. Art class-none. Sports-not offered by the school. Extracurricular activities-few. The children play in a parking lot barely supervised. Gym is on average twice a week and can be taken away as punishment. This happens frequently. Physical education is poor at this school. Violence among the students is a problem shoddily dealt with by the Principal and with my experience this year, the teachers as well. When you want answers and results, you get excuses. The only reason I will rate highly for parent involvement is because parents are almost discluded when it comes to their children's progress (or the lack there-of), academically, until report card time. We're forced to drill staff about academic problems. Children's grades rest on the children's/parent's shoulders solely. Homework time is a joke. My child's grades and morale have fallen dramatically at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 81%
Black 26% 11%
Two or more races 16% 2%
Hispanic 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28th and Indiana
Covington, KY 41015
Phone: (859) 292-5823

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Augustine School
Covington, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT