Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glenn O Swing Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2014

This school is by far the best school my forth grader has went to out of four schools. I also have a kindergardener at this school. Teachers definitely keep parents informed. The principal is also very interested in my children's learning. Overall A+ Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

This school is incredible! I have enjoyed working there in the past and the kids are thriving. The staff is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

This is my son's 2nd year @ Glenn O Swing and I love it. They make sure to communicate with the parents whether it b a text message a phone call or an email
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

My son is in his first year at this school and so far the teaching staff along with the VP has exceeded my expectations. However the office staff has been very rude and not helpful at all. After all is said and done I have already arranged to have my child leave this school after this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

I disagree with the January statement regarding teachers not sending their children to this school. On the contrary, most teachers and aides have their own children enrolled in the school, or had them enrolled here prior to sending them to our district's middle and high school. I believe that demonstrates a high level belief in the teaching and programs offered by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I have to agree about the office staff...a little less than welcoming to both the students and parents. I have had a difficult time engaging in programs offered here. It seems as though, unless you are a low-income monority, the extra programs are not quite useful. This Principal is much better than the last and is welcoming. Have not had any correspondence with the Vice-P. Teachers are wonderful.....but probably would not send their own children here. Overall...if you live close or can afford another district, I would advise against it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

I am not sure how to feel about the school. The teachers are really devoted to the kids but the office staff can use some attitude changes. on more than one occasion I have seen myself the way the staff in the office talk horribly to the kids. I do not approve of the office staff at this school. I have a daughter who attends and the teachers she has had have been awesome. which is why she is still enrolled, the teachers are what counts and they seem to care here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

Pretty good school overall. They are having lots of new programs and state funding increases test scores about 5 years ago were bad) which is really helping the school. The new DI program is great. My 6 year old reads better than her 10 year old cousin at another school. After school programs are getting better and a bigger variety. I actually co-lead the Girl Scouts and we opened it up to Kindergarten - 5th grade. I do wish sometimes communication was better at times. Nurse is AWESOME, both of my kids have medical issues and they are great at handling them. The trick is if you get involved with the teachers and the school, you and your child will have a better experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

I absolutly love the staff! (including the office) I am a little dissapointed in the feedback that I get from the teachers. I send notes in the planners all the time that dont get answered for 3 or 4 days. I would like to see the playground a little more interesting and what is up with a football team?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

This school is really getting better with education. The new DI program is great. GOS does have some after school programs, but I wish they had more, especially for the younger kids. Sometimes it is hard to get volunteers, but that is the parents. The kids get great one on one attention and they love the stations. Over all a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

This is my son's first year at Glenn O. So far I am not impressed. I like his teacher but I feel the overall communication with the school is not good. My son has some minor speacial needs and I have had a hard time getting the school to provide equipment to him or even calling me back regarding his needs. I have e-mailed the principal and made several calls and have gotten no response. I am currently considering paying tutition for him to go to a new school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
31%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students20%
Female28%
Male11%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students31%
Female36%
Male26%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students56%
Female59%
Male53%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students72%
Female67%
Male77%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female59%
Male74%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female74%
Male91%
African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
Female30%
Male41%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students36%
Female30%
Male41%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students32%
Female30%
Male33%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students25%
Female27%
Male24%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 81%
Black 32% 11%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 West 19th St
Covington, KY 41014
Phone: (859) 292-5821

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Augustine School
Covington, KY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT