Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Elizabethtown, KY
Students enrolled: 414

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St James Catholic School 3

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
The previous parent comment (from April 2014) is spot on. Everyone raves about St. James, but in actuality it does not meet the expectation presented. Communication is poor; in it's dissemination, tone and grammar. The administration is out of touch with children and the needs of families. It is surprising the student scores are still high, with of the level of apathy in the administration AND staff. Nepotism appears to be quite common within the school, lending to the difficulty for new family integration. I am wholly disappointed!

St James Catholic School 3

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
As a new person at this school I feel the PR needs improvement. New kids and parents are thrown into a mix with little to no guidance from seasoned members. We never met the Principle for a year. Grade postings are slow making it difficult for assessments. Communication between parent, staff and principal seemed to be disconnected. Many emails go unanswered. Most of the curriculum is high standard. Community service is a requirement of the school, which is needed in all schools.


St James Catholic School 5

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
SJS is an excellent school. The school performs ABOVE the average of area schools (scores listed on website) and is among the top of the schools in the Archdiocese. This school also has an amazing parental group that makes for a school that functions like a community.

St James Catholic School 5

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
My son started SJS in Kindergarten and with the exception of a few days here and there has enjoyed his experience. (he is now in middle school) I believe all the staff (principal, teachers, secretarial, lunch, cleaning, ASC, etc.) genuinely care about the well-being of each child. I also believe they encourage the parents to be active participants and share in each student's catholic education. There are numerous activities for the children (and parents) and the more you are involved, the more you see what SJS has to offer for your child(ren). I have also learned over the years, that you have to personally experience SJS and form your own opinion. :)

St James Catholic School 5

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in the pre-school and I am very pleased with St. James. The material is age appropriate. The teachers are caring and that shows in how they interact with the kids.


St James Catholic School 5

Posted January 12, 2009
- a student
Hey , a few comments down, that person who said it was below average, actually it is a wonderful school, it fact i go there. It prepares you for high school and college better than any other middle schools i have seen.

St James Catholic School 5

Posted August 29, 2008
- a parent
My daughter absolutely loved this school. She went to two years preschool there and was thrilled to go each day! The teachers are patient and careing. The staff is delightful! They are strict on their safety and education! The kids learn and have fun! The children are taught that they are valuable and important! It is an exceptional school with an exceptional education program. Unfortunately the tuition is rather costly especially with three kids but if we could have we would have kept our kids there! I would definitely recommend this school to all parents!

St James Catholic School 5

Posted June 02, 2008
- a parent
St. James School is an excellent school because they really know how to connect with the students, although the work could be more challenging in math


St James Catholic School 2

Posted February 25, 2008
- a parent
SJS is, in my opinion, a below-average institution, particularly for a Catholic school. Communication from the school is atrocious, PTO meetings are practically non-existent (once or twice a year), and staff seems to be more concerned with whether or not a child's hair is the correct length than disruptive, ill-behaved students. If I had it to do over again, I would not send my children to either the primary school or the middle school.

St James Catholic School 3

Posted November 14, 2007
- a parent
It needs more parent involvement with it school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St James Catholic School
114 North Miles Street, Elizabethtown, KY  42701
(270) 765-7011
Last modified St James Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St James Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top