Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Children's Academy

Private | PK-1 | 66 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Elizabethtown

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $560.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2013

The teaching method at this school is unmatched and the proof is in student progress. There are a lot of early readers and children working with math concepts that are well beyond their age-level. The teachers are very encouraging. Also, on a social level, the activities at this school are incredible. There are show and tell days to coordinate with the lessons and the children can be in a rotation to bring in and help prepare healthy snacks. All around, it's a fantastic school, the best preschool option in Hardin County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2012

If you are looking for a great Montessori school then look somewhere else. This school's quality has gone down drastically in the last few years. If you are a believer in the Montessori Method look outside the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

This is the most expensive private school in our area and it is not worth the money. Attend a board meeting and you will quickly see the disorganization. If you work, this school will quickly become inconvenient and costly. The last day of school was changed and notice was given only 5 days in advance. This means I had to find care for my children for four days at the last minute. I paid tuition for a month, received two weeks of care and then they offered to provide care for an extra fee for days that were supposed to be covered. This is just one of many problems with this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

Montessori Children's Academy is supposed to be run as a parent co-op, but instead is managed by a small group of small-minded people. The school is insolvent and losing huge amounts of money every month. There are two qualified Montessori teachers at the school, one AMS certified and one with many years of experience. The other teachers are not Montessori teachers. There is no communication, no budget process, no planning. They can't afford a cleaning crew - children are constantly sick through the winter. While the Montessori method is what attracted me to the school, the poor administration, rampant nepotism and closed-minded Board of Directors has run me off for good. Send your children elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2011

I'll qoute my child: " I didn't like my teacher, so when she asked me to read, I wouldn't.". We changed schools and now reading two years above grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Montessori Children's Academy is a phenomenal school! I have been to several Montessori schools and this school is one of the best schools! They truly believe in the Montessori Philosophy, because it works. The education these children receive is far above state standards. Many of the children are reading by the end of their 4 year old year! The school is very fortunate to have administration that truly cares about the children as well as school and its impact in the community. The children do community service projects and the school has fun activities for the families to be involved. The school is also very lucky to have such GREAT teachers! The teachers at MCA are not in it for themselves, the money or to further their careers. They believe in the Montessori Method and they love working with the children. All the lead teachers are Montessori certified and go above and beyond to ensure the children have a great learning experience. The school may have been going through growing pains. Unfortunately, growing pains comes with any successful organization. This is and will be a successful program. I m proud to be a part of the Montessori Children s Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

Desperately needs new administration and new direction for the future!! The school has been unable to effectively support a dramatic increase in students leaving the Montessori philosophy dangling by a thread!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

Wonderful school my child has been attending for 2 years and loves to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

This school taught me to listen to my child when he says he doesn't want to go to school. I just didn't realize how bad it was until we went to public kindergarten. What a pleasure to see my kid happy about school. Lots of Mommy guilt now that I know what a good school should be doing with kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

I am very excited about the Elizabethown Montessori Academy program. As a child I attended a Montessori through the fourth grade. Two of my three children are still attending school at this Montessori. My older son still reminises of his Montessori days, and is enjoying academic success with ALL Distinguished in the State CATS testing. One of my other children is a fluent reader at four and a walking Atlas. I feel as a parent that children should enjoy learning and not be forced to learn.This school 'follows the child',as Maria Montessori herself practiced. I fell very blessed to have found a Montessori in our town so that we were able to provide our children with a Montessori beginning. I am very excited to watch my children to grow in to young adults as 'independant thinkers', as Maria Montessori said. I encourage you to check the Elizabethtown Montessori out,for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

My son attends school there. My niece will be attending school there this fall. As far as appearances are concerned it is not elaborate or anything, but I love the enviroment. My son loves to go to school there, and has truly learned so much. He is already spelling, and has just learned his continents. It really amazes me. As far as it being of poor quality, have you read about Hardin counties school district? It is a joke. I have a close friend who is an elem. teacher, and the district is going downhill in a hurry. I love this school, and my son does as well. As my dear friend Bill Cosby would say; the proof is in the pudding. My son is proof of this schools success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

Fantastic school, fantastic staff...highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

Not an accredited Montessori. Very much not a traditional Montessori either. They have the teaching materials but the classroom environment is far from what you'd expect for a school advertised as Montessori. In fact I'd say the classroom environment is poor for any school. Don't let the new facilities impress you too much. If you choose this school for your kids, expect to put time into classroom observation and be very involved in board meetings. Especially if you know what a good Montessori should be. This place needs improvement. I give two stars because basic safety for the children is met and they have a new directress so changes are being made. As the most expensive private school in Etown, not worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 85%
Asian 15% N/A
Black 15% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2411 Ring Rd Ste 114
Elizabethtown, KY 42701
Phone: (270) 765-5355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gloria Dei Lutheran School
Elizabethtown, KY




Spectrum Care Academy
Elizabethtown, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT