Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Highland Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2012

My child attends NHE as a first grader. His Kindergarden teacher Mrs. Butler was an amazing teacher. She cared about the kids beyond words and knew my sons weak and strong points without having to dig through information. This shows how familular she was with each child as an individual. My child learned beyond my expectations for Kindergarten. She had a wonderful personality and very funny. I am very pleased and thankful my son had Mrs. Butler for his introduction to school. She did wonderful art work and cared for the children. I love NHE and thank god who attends that school then an Radcliff jurisdiction. The school is clean, friendly and refreshing. The princibal is amazing, up beat and very friendly (and hot).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

My son is in the FMD class with Mrs. Baldwin (special needs class). I love this school and the teacher she is so proactive and does not let my child check out and just waste the day away nor get away with anything:) She and her class room staff are awesome and work towards our goals on our IEP. I will def miss her when we have to move
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

My daughter attened New Highland for preschool back in Fall 2005 and 2006. Ms Hill and her staff rock. Madison did so well with them I hated to move. WE have moved back to this area and we intend to buy a house in this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

my daughter has an anxiety d/o and I was worried about her starting a new school. She has done wonderful at this school and has almost no need for her IEP any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

I have two children who attend New Highland School. I have been very pleased with their educational experience so far. They have had very good teachers for their kindergarten, first and second grade years. As with any school, there are areas that can be improved upon. I feel their strengths come from the classroom teachers and the a few of their special programs. Where all of Hardin County and E'town could use help is with their nursing support, gifted education, and strong administrative leadership that values educator input. New Highland has plenty of opportunity for parents to volunteer and most staff members are friendly and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

New Highland is about normal for schools. I don't think they have any outstanding programs specifically. I was pleased with the kindergarten teacher in regards to my 5 year old. She really tried working with my child, who has ADHD. She didn't just push her to the side like their previous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

My son is in the pre k program and we love it, he is learning, and is very excited about going to school everyday, he loves it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

The preschool program is awesome, best in the county. The school is great overall and friendly, happy atmosphere. I'm somewhat disappointed in the services for speech therapy it is lacking, although the therapist do try. I would like to see more available for special needs children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female36%
Male27%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female59%
Male39%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students48%
Female58%
Male37%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students36%
Female34%
Male38%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students32%
Female30%
Male35%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female54%
Male55%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female42%
Male38%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students40%
Female44%
Male36%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students46%
Female44%
Male49%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students23%
Female36%
Male7%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 81%
Black 28% 11%
Hispanic 8% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 West A Jenkins Rd
Elizabethtown, KY 42701
Phone: (270) 737-6612

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gloria Dei Lutheran School
Elizabethtown, KY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT